Typhoon Kompasu and the Impending End of Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 4th 2010
Published: September 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"I love you" backwards?"I love you" backwards?"I love you" backwards?

I realized too late that our hands were backwards. Good one, teacher. >.< Hahaha
A typhoon hit Korea a few days ago and raged through the night. I woke up around 4am unable to force myself to sleep any longer. Instead, I contemplated the apartment collapsing around me and being stuck in the downpour in measly PJs. Unable to bear such circumstance, I got up, took a shower, and put on some sturdier jeans.

As the hours passed, schools were delayed or closed. Munhak Stadium’s rooftop took on $8 million in damages, which I witnessed firsthand when travelling back and forth from the postal office. Trees were UNROOTED from the ground. I’m talking large trees knocked over with gnarled roots curling in the air. Large leaves and branches were strewn everywhere.

One of my coworkers described her bus ride to work. Only a few stops from school and one of our students noticed her. The student approached and asked, “Is school delayed?” And my coworker replied, “Yes, to 10:30.” The student rang the bus bell and ran out. I laughed hard imagining a student running away from the bus for dear life, but I guess my coworker felt ashamed that the people on the bus had witnessed the conversation and ensuing action. I
Class 3-6Class 3-6Class 3-6

This is the same class that sang "Happy Girl" to me TWICE! They came to visit me altogether on my last day.
think our kids are hilarious.

My final day of work in South Korea came to a close with students visiting the office saying, “Teacherrrrrr~ Don’t gooooo.” *knife to the heart* “Teacherrrr~ Don’t forget us!” *knife in the shoulder* I felt overwhelmingly loved and heartbroken at the same time. I promised my students that those who kept in touch through email until I next visit in 2011 would be treated to a lunch or dinner. One student asked, “Barbecue?” I said, “Well, depends on how many of you email me. Teacher’s not a billionaire." And yes, sometimes I refer to myself in the third person as "teacher." A habit I unwittingly formed during my year in Korea.

My last week flew by much too fast. My students sang to me, drew pictures, wrote me notes, and gave me enough hugs to last a lifetime. I am a lucky teacher. There was one final fiasco with my co-teacher, which busted my trust and burnt bridges, so that the relationship was left on a cool and distant level. But, as if to compensate, my students, other teachers, study group, friends, and family filled me up with so much happiness, I can’t
goodbye cardgoodbye cardgoodbye card

One class rushed to make this after I announced I would not be returning~
help but feel filled to the brim with gratitude.

After work, I met my study group for the last time. Despite meeting them only 4 times, they have really given me a sense of family. They reciprocated this feeling. I relayed my morning qualms regarding the typhoon, and they laughed.

Two members snuck out, but I didn’t notice as they often take phone calls. Then, at the end of the meeting, they handed me a present from…BYC? BYC is mainly known for underwear and socks. I opened the box and there sat two cute pairs of socks and underneath, a sexy, pink, lace lingerie slip?

A bunch of the members including me were confused at the meaning. I was struck speechless and unsure whether to laugh or hide behind the box, but saying, "Thank you," nonetheless. Then one of the members explained, “Now, you don’t have to worry if you’re stuck in a typhoon. You will look beautiful.” AHAAHHAahahahaah~~ And the humor ensued. And this is one of the many reasons I loved my study group.

One of the culprits responsible for buying the present had written my VP, “I’m afraid we may have bought Michelle
goodbye with the girlsgoodbye with the girlsgoodbye with the girls

Couldn't ask for better company at a better location.
a present that is too personal?” They showed me the notes and I laughed even harder.

Final Countdown



My last hours in Korea consisted of shipping two boxes to the wrong address, celebrating my friend’s birthday at a fun Wii Café, and hitting up my favorite Indian restaurant in Hongdae one last time.

I couldn’t have asked for a better end to my stay. We strained our joints playing Wii tennis and boxing. We had a girls’ night at Yeti Restaurant where I consumed the Lamb Sagwala (curry and spinach with mixed herbs and spices) and Garlic Naan. Then we strolled around looking for our last stop of the night, preferably a lounge with coffee and drinks.

There was a sketchy bar with pink neon lights and dark stenciled lettering which read, “Coffee and Drinks.” Curiosity led us up, and inside we found a gem.

One of my friend’s commented with her German accent, “I’m so sad. I really love this place. But, it’s going to be closed in a year.” We replied, “What? What are you talking about?” To which she explained, “Well, it’s great, but the sketchy pink lights don’t bring in a lot of customers and the location is nice and high, but I doubt you can pay off rent with just coffee, drinks, and tiramisu cake.”

She said it so matter-of-factly, as if she saw the beautiful location being taken down brick-by-brick in her own mind. Her beloved new hangout of 15-minutes already demolished. I responded, “You know that movie Being John Malkovich? Sometimes, I really want to live in your head and see things through your eyes.”

We joked and laughed as seconds turned to minutes and hours. They served a mean mojito, which I'd been craving the past couple weeks but to no avail. We made fun of the wallpaper that clashed with the ceiling. The designs were “tacky,” but I loved the place all the more for it. In our corner, we observed the couples and smaller groups drinking under their white umbrellas, indoors. And then, all too fast, it was all over. Time to go.

I barely squeezed in two hours of sleep as I tried to prepare more material for the new teacher, packed my final box, and squeezed stuff into my too-small backpack.

I met two of my good friends early in the morning for our last goodbyes. Hopefully, our next reunion will take place in South Africa unless we are lucky enough to reunite sooner. Another longtime friend made a long trip out to see me at the airport. In my last week, I was reminded again of the wonderful, amazing, and irreplaceable people in my life.

As I squeezed my friend at the airport goodbye again, (poor girl, she doesn’t care much for hugs, either) I walked through the security gate at Incheon International Airport. I gave back my Alien Registration Card, and my E2 visa officially expired. I boarded Malaysia Airlines and set off to Kuala Lumpur (Drenched, Shat On, and Good Times in Kuala Lumpur).

Advertisement



8th September 2010

Goodbye Miss Duer
Hi Michelle, thanks for calling us in Seoul, I'm sad too that we couldn't meet, but such is life! Remember when you get to Oz, if you want help, feel free to contact me if you want any info, Brett

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb