Note to self: 26.2 miles is a long long long time to run....


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 13th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Before the marathonBefore the marathonBefore the marathon

My coach Jae is in the middle (he's the shortest one) and my friend Audrey is at the end. We are seeking shelter from the wind in the Kyobo Building next to the U.S. Consulate.
Well, I survived the bitter winds and the freezing temperatures of Seoul. I also survived 42.something kilometers of running.....something I will think twice about the next time I am presented with the chance to run a marathon. It wasn't so bad the first 16 miles, but after that I wanted to end it...haha. seriously, though the legs cramped up and I found myself looking for a subway station to make a last minute ditch....luckily there weren't any nearby at the time, so I finished in 4 hours, 43 minutes. It was rough, everyone was sick of the evil wind (I thought Kansas had pretty bad winds in March, but Seoul definitely has KS beat), as well as the awful cold. The day before the race it was 50 degrees, but there was a yellow haze from China in the air, so perhaps the cold was better to run in. Another note, DON"T play soccer the day before a marathon....haha. I went to the U.S. base in Yongson on Saturday for soccer practice, which ended up lasting close to 3 hours. We had a blast though, there are lots of new girls and everyone is here for different reasons, which makes for
F GroupF GroupF Group

We are in F group, meaning we start last, so we had to wait for almost 45 minutes to actually get to the starting line. Yes I am freezing...
some good stories. Afterwords we went to Taco Bell on base, which is the only one in Korea!!! Wow....I never eat Taco Bell at home, but in Korea it tastes like heaven. So anyways, the morning of my race was already a little bit sore, which is no good. I'll just call this weekend my sports weekend. Today it snowed all day...whats with this weather??? I thought Spring was here, apparently not. There are talks amongst the soccer team that we are going to Guam in May for a holiday, so I hope that happens. I could use some sun...I feel like a ghost woman or something I'm so white. Well, I hope you all are doing well and look at my fun pics from the marathon....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

I'm coldI'm cold
I'm cold

This is while we are waiting to start..there were over 20,000 running.
Ready to goReady to go
Ready to go

I'm standing at the base of the King Sejong statue in Gwanghuamun. The lady next to me is in awe that someone with blond hair is can run..j/k
The King The King
The King

The King is at the start of the race, at each start (there were 7, one for each group) fireworks came out of his head...
The bagsThe bags
The bags

See those big white bags we all have?? Well, we each got one with our race numbers on them to put our stuff in, since nearly evryone came on public transportation. At 7:30 am, we had to throw our bags into our designated truck (there were hundreds of them) and then they made a huge procession out of Gwanghuamun to go to Jamshil where we finished.
The startThe start
The start

And one of the groups is off!
On the road again...On the road again...
On the road again...

And we're off...for nearly five hours. Man I could have used a Starbucks during that race...
The finish!!!!!The finish!!!!!
The finish!!!!!

Yay, we are done....we ended at the Olympic Stadium (from the '88 summer Olympics). We had to do a lap around the track and then our picture was on the jumbotron like we were famous and we were done!!!


13th March 2006

wow!
Congrats on your finish Jen! That is awesome, and it sounds like such an amazing experience! I'm proud of you and glad you survived and could still smile. My spring break is next week, I'm not sure yet where I'll go - maybe Mali. Anyway, love your stories and congrats again on your first marathon (something tells me there will be more)! Love Christina
13th March 2006

WOW!
Jenn- You are now my official source of inspiration. Hopefully I can talk my self off of the couch and back into some form of fitness. I'm glad to hear that you are doing well. Stay safe and take care. Dan
13th March 2006

wow
I am so impressed and your pictures were great to see. It does not sound like fun though. Thanks for the new addition to the blog I will let everyone know you have added on. xoxoxo
14th March 2006

wow
26.2 miles is just long. Thats how far Salem is from any other town around. That's insane. I'm glad you made it though. Good job.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb