Axel's Korea duty


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Itaewon
August 20th 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not in Kansas!Not in Kansas!Not in Kansas!

One stop to Korea. Tokyo / Narita airport.
Hi, Axel here. I was ordered to Korea to support bilateral exercise Ulchi Freedom Guardian from 12-29AUG. While I didn’t get to do a lot of tourism, here are a few pictures of what I saw and did. I was assigned to the staff of U.S. Forces Korea for the duration of the exercise and learned a LOT about Army operations. This was my first experience in Joint operations.

Despite the global economic crisis, Korea has prospered enormously in recent years. I took advantage of every opportunity to get off base and experience the local culture. Being assigned to Yongsan Garrison in downtown Seoul made it easy to get around using Seoul’s exceptional mass transit.

For my last night in Korea I decided that I didn't like having to walk to the latrine or sweat in a sleeping bag...so I upgraded.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

G.I. JoeG.I. Joe
G.I. Joe

Wearing mandatory Army-issue kevlar helmet, body armor and my Navy-issue MCU2P gas mask.
Inside tent B-2Inside tent B-2
Inside tent B-2

My cot is second from back on the left.
Folk group performingFolk group performing
Folk group performing

On the plaza at the foot of Seoul tower.
Padlocks on the railing.Padlocks on the railing.
Padlocks on the railing.

Around the Seoul tower plaza. Don't know what it means.
GazeboGazebo
Gazebo

Seoul tower plaza.
Koreans drink sweat.Koreans drink sweat.
Koreans drink sweat.

Bottom shelf, yes it's sweat.
Fish and chop blockFish and chop block
Fish and chop block

In Nam Dae Mun market.
Gangnam glitz.Gangnam glitz.
Gangnam glitz.

Gangnam district is home to the headquarters of several great Korean chaebol, including Samsung.
Gangnam night sceneGangnam night scene
Gangnam night scene

Endless restaurants and bars.
Park HyattPark Hyatt
Park Hyatt

Aahhh. Better than the tent! I stayed here my last night in Seoul.
Toilet remote control.Toilet remote control.
Toilet remote control.

The toilet also works as a bidet. The water is heated and the blow dryer air pressure is adjustable. Oh, and the seat has an adjustable heater!
The lobbyThe lobby
The lobby

This is the Park Hyatt's lobby on the 24th floor. Breathtaking view. Service was outstanding, catering to the demanding Japanese businessman.


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb