Hanging on for Hongdae


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Hongik
August 18th 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I swear, they really need to make the Hongdae exit 5 bigger. That's the one closest to the main dining and shopping district. Every time I've been there, although that's only been two times, you have to get in line to climb the stairs out. Outside, there's tons of people milling about, waiting for their friends.

I kind of stick out, so my friend Yewon had no trouble finding me in the crowd. She took me to a highly recommended Japanese noodle place on a back street of Hongdae. The food was really tasty, but you probably could have told me it was a Korean noodle dish we were having and I would have accepted it. It didn't have any particular "Japanesesy" taste and they gave us kimchi too, which just totally confused my taste buds. Oh well, I bet the same deficiency that prevents me from telling good wine from bad, or great coffee from normal brews also applies here.

After dinner we wondered around some of the back streets of Hongdae. I only got to see the clubs and bars and main streets of Hongdae last time, but I really like this "side-street" Hongdae a lot more.
YewonYewonYewon

and the Japanese noodles!
Lots of cafes, small bars and boutiques. Lots of fun window-shopping and interior design judging. I can't wait to get back here after Yonsei and do some more exploring. Maybe do a cafe crawl (as opposed to a pub crawl).

Hongik University is more artsy than the big three universities, so there were some artist cafes and lots of art graffiti. So I share with you now some of the graffiti I saw. I was going for the bright flash, American Apparel-style feeling in these shots.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Is it a church?Is it a church?
Is it a church?

No! It's a Czech restaurant!
Hate FingersHate Fingers
Hate Fingers

Not the same as spirit fingers
I'm a godI'm a god
I'm a god

Who says so?
So many men...So many men...
So many men...

So little time
Just coolJust cool
Just cool

Loving the fro


23rd August 2009

Ramen?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ramen Looks like pork ramen.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb