The Good times are killing me...long awaited update...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam
October 1st 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I know, I know, its been like a billion years since I have wrote any sort of update or posted any pics. I do sincerely apologize and hope that this detailed update will please all of you who think I have fallen off the Earth. Actually the complete opposite has happened,life has been extrememely unreal the past month and I feel like I have been to all ends of the world and back. Summer was unreal here in so many ways, unreal hot, unreal busy and unreal short~!

After the great Muuido expedition where I received the sunburn of a lifetime, there were a few more beach trips to be had. I went out to Daecheon beach with some friends that live in Gunsan. That was quite an adventure in itself. First off I dont recommend making any sudden moves or quick plans unless you are completely sure of where it is you are going. Seoul has two bus terminals, one is really close to my house and the other not so much. So my friend Tamara tells me I need to go to the far away one and catch the bus from there. I get there and it turns out that I am supposed to be at the other terminal which is like 10 minutes from my house not 35~!! So I finally get to the Express bus terminal and think okay, shouldn't be too difficult to get some tickets right? WRONG! There are actually two places where you can but tickets and of course I go to the wrong terminal. Eventually tho, I did find the correct place and did get the right ticket. It took me three hours to get out there and we ended up not staying for that long but it was still a good time to get out of the city. And normally the beaches are super crowded in Korea but since "beach season" was over with there was hardly anyone there! We swam for a bit and relaxed before heading back to Gunsan for a night of Pizza and profanity rummy...what has this place done to me??

We have also had to say goodbye to one of our Korean Teachers here at Sullivan. One of the girls, Sara is gone to study in New York. She is such a sweet person and will be dearly missed around here. We went and celebrated her last day here which was nice and good times were had by all. All of us teachers went to a place called Platinum where you can eat and drink for three hours quite cheaply. The food is buffet style and there is sooo much food to choose from. That is how a lot of places are set up in Korea so its kinda nice if you have a big group becuase then it doesn't get super expensive.

The end of summer has also brought an end to lots of my good friend being here in Korea. Tamara and Cara are my Gunsan gals and they are all done teaching and shipping out. Tamara already left and Cara is heading out this week. We have had some good times together and I am sad to see them go. But on a happier note I have met their replacements...Nathan and Jeremy! These guys are super fun and I am sure that we can make some good memories before I have to take off. They all were in the city for the Korean Thanksgiving Holiday that is called Chuseok. We all had three days off work which was sooo nice and well deserved. I thought this would be a good time for me to relax and have some time to recouperate...however the Gunsan gang had other plans. After a great weekend of partying and golfing I hooked up with them for a fun filled trip to Everland. Its basically the funnest place in Korea that I have been to yet. Its a huge amusement park that is filled with a zoo area, roller coasters, bird sanctuary, a safari (which we didn't get to go on) and plenty of other things to see and do! We had a blast exploring and going on rides and wandering around like trendy tourists. Altho the Everland trip was everything and more, it wasn't enough for us. So the boys decided to stay and I decided to chriten them with their first Itaewon experience. After some much needed cleaning and primping we were ready for a night out on the town. There is this new place called the Bungalow that is pretty popular so I thought for sure would take them there. Its awesome cause the chairs are swings and they place awesome house music so its a pretty chill place. Well we get to thinkin that it would be a good idea to get some pics while swinging....in retrospect not such a good idea. Jeremy and I get on one swing and all of a sudden there goes mine and Heathers drinks down to the floor ( which did I mention was sand??) Yeah so the double swinging wasn't such a good idea...As you can see in the pictures we weren't too impressed with Jeremy!
On the last day of Chuseok I ended up going for a picnic with some other friends that I know here. Actually the one girl I met on Canada day and she ended up being one of my friends older sister...What a small world hey! So we all met up and chilled out in the park for a few hours, threw some disk and played some volleyball. It was nice to have one relaxing day at least~ So hard to get back to work after a nice break like that. But it was a very short week with only two teaching days and then another weekend.
Kimberly came out to Seoul and we spent the weekend together shopping and having a sweet girls night on Saturday! It was nice to see her after such a long time....it was another completely random night out but so much fun! Never a dull moment when that gal is around...

I am also stoked because you guessed it...hockey is back~!! I haven't made it out to catch a game yet but I got my jersey all warmed up and ready to go. You can definately tell that summer has come to an end but I am gearing up for...dare I say it...Christmas! Got my ticket all booked for Thailand and I am getting excited to have a warm, sunshiney Christmas this year.
So I hope everyone back home is doing well....I dont feel that bad about not updating cause I haven't heard from some of you in a while either! I have a midweek holiday this week which is nice and I am not too sure what will happen next week when I actually have to teach for 5 days in a row...definately haven't done that in a while! Anyways, can't wait to hear from all of you and I love you and miss you guys soo soo much!!

Ciao
Trena xox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb