Korea, Fighting!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollabuk-do » Jeonju
June 20th 2010
Saved: February 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I wasn't able to post a blog last week to loyal readers. The camera card reader has been messed up on my desktop so I had to bring my laptop home from school to get pictures up. I'll catch you up to speed on what's been going on in the last two weeks!

I went to Jeonju with Andrew last weekend to watch Korea vs. Greece. We met up with his girlfriend and many of her single friends. I didn't have a lot of luck flirting though, the language barrier is a total roadblock when it comes to smooth talking. Ohhhh well. We had a good time, ate some great chicken and drank too much. The stadium where we watched the game was packed with Koreans. They almost all had their Red Devils horns on in support of the team. It was a great environment to cheer in but not so great to follow what was going on exactly in the game. I will say that Koreans definitely support their team. Suffer with them, celebrate with them as a nation. If one Korean achieves something great or screws up royally they feel all responsible for it as a culture.

I went to the dentist this past week. I found out that all my teeth are great! Except my four back molars, they're hurtin' for certain. Damn, why do they have to be so far back there? Anyways they said I couldn't get more fillings in them so this week I'm slated to get the first crowns of my life. I'll feel a bit like a pirate afterwards I imagine. It feels great to do it here though because I'm getting two gold crowns for about $500 as opposed to $600-1000 each as it would cost in the States.

On Thursday night I watched the Korea vs. Argentina game after work at the bar above my school. I was with Andrew and a couple of his students. We again had beer and chicken while watching the game. South Korea got crushed and everyone was super depressed the next day. The bar seemed to be full of male co-workers. The companies tend to go out together on drinking outings quite often. The wives understand it's just a part of the business culture. Some men I've talked to say they feel pressured to go with their boss for fear of not being looked at as part of the collective group.

This weekend I stayed home mostly. I grilled tonight with Andrew, Yun Kwan and one of our co-teachers, Rira. She is leaving to study and teach in Missouri for a month so this was kind of her farewell dinner. We did burgers and onion rings. I also grilled some samgyeupsal and ate it on top of a burger. Two meats are better than one any day! I only wish I had some chicken to finish the triad of deliciousness.

I have a big decision to make this week. I should know by tomorrow afternoon what my future holds. I hope everything works out for the best but whatever happens I believe I am doing what is best and will make my life easier/more successful in the months/years to come.

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb