Merry Christmas!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
December 21st 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All!

I’m just checking in to let you know that all is well and that I haven’t forgotten about this page for those of you who still take the trouble to check it. Sorry I haven’t given you anything new to read for a while!

It’s come to that point in my journey that was always going to be one of the hardest…..Christmas! One of the few draw backs of coming here for this great experience is that I have to spend Christmas away from home for the first time. I can’t deny that it will be difficult but one day of feeling lonely and homesick is a small price to pay for the enjoyment I’ve already had and hope to have more of in the coming months.

The winter here has started to hit fairly hard and with it came my first (and probably not last) experience of being ill Korean style. I’ve had a touch of flu over the last week or so and it knocked me out to the point that I had to visit the local hospital. Nothing to be too concerned with though and I am now well and truly on the mend. I was a bit worried by the Korean approach to medicine and my inability to communicate my symptoms precisely but I seem to have got the better of it in the end.

Aside from being a bit under the weather, I don’t really have too much to tell you. Almost all of my free time is used up with extra teaching at the moment as I have taken on a 2-month stint of teaching English at the school where I have my Korean lessons. It means that I go there every day of the week before going to work at my ‘official’ job. It’s tiring but fun. I am moving to level 2 Korean lessons as of January so that will keep me busy too.

With any luck I’ll be back on here in a few days to tell you about something interesting I’ve done for Christmas. I have Christmas Day itself off work but that’s about where the significance ends here; it resembles a bank holiday more than anything else. No definite plans as yet but I’ll do my best to find something fun to do.

All that remains is to wish you all a really wonderful Christmas. Anyone who is reading this is someone who I’ll be thinking of and missing a great deal over Christmas perhaps more than any other time.

I’m sure I’ll be in touch soon.

All my love and festive cheer!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb