where's my rice??


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
February 8th 2011
Published: February 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm back in Korea and it was pretty sad to leave all my wonderful family and friends but I am happy now that I am here 😊. The title of this entry comes from the first morning I woke up in America and walked into the kitchen and thought, "where's my rice???" I went out that day and bought some 😉. I definitely eat rice every day here and at almost every meal. And that's they way I like it (uh huh uh huh) (yes I did). Ooohh, speaking of things that I like... I really like how I don't care so much about what others think of me or what I do and I feel like I got from living here (quote to follow) - I loooove my coteacher and she has taught me to just be myself and not walk on eggshells for anyone and not to be soooooo "considerate" (to my own detriment) for instance, today we were cleaning the office a bit and i was sweeping the whole room (side note: with a two foot broom- for some reason that is the only size they use here) and I made a little pile of the dirt on the side of the room near a cupboard... my coteacher totally walked through it a few times (haha) and it didn't mess it up too much but still I thought about how I would NEVER do that due to "common courtesy" to not walk on it... but those "rules" are all things we were taught growing up and I think they are to our detriment a lot of times because you are so worried about what others will think instead of just being yourself and not worrying too much about what others will think. 😊 So that quote which will be paraphrased because I don't remember exactly and never can seem to find it through google search, but anyhoo... "when you are 20 all you care about is what other people think of you. When you're 40 you don't care. When you're 60 you realize that they were never thinking about you at all." 😉. I like it. I like it a lot. 😊

Anywho, it's been a few weeks since I wrote this... the pictures I am going to attach include the snow day in Yangsan :D, a kite-making event at a temple a few towns away.. this temple holds events for foreigners once a month. Next month is learning how to make gimbap and dukkboki 😊 Gimbap is Korean sushi and dukkboki is rice cakes in pepper sauce 😊 yum! Hwamyeong mountain hike with Danielle and TK 😊. And a Trick Art museum exhibit.

I really miss you guys a lot!!!!!!!! 😞 But I will see you all soon 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

KatjaKatja
Katja

is hilarious!!!!! :):)
Hwamyeong hikeHwamyeong hike
Hwamyeong hike

my favorite so far :):)
Korean squirrelKorean squirrel
Korean squirrel

soooo cute!! really fuzzy ears and tail... we thought it looked like a pokemon character


26th February 2011

KOREA??? Rock on grrrrl.
So excited for you! Are you teaching English? Stay away from the brothels! Oh wait that's Thailand. Have fun and keep kicking ass!
26th February 2011
Korean squirrel

Ah HAH!
How cute are Korean squirrels??? ;)
4th March 2011

Love the photos and you!!! Aunt Carolina

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb