My Weekend


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Seongnam » Bundang
September 20th 2009
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! So, on Saturday we all went to a teamwork development picnic about an hour bus ride away from Bundang. It was actually kind of fun. The Koreans, Canadians, Americans were randomly put into three teams, and we competed in a bunch of different activities. I was on team C. The first half was indoor talent type stuff. The first activity was a team cheer, which I was barely able to keep up with because most of it was in Korean. We then had an individual talent thing, which Jessica took care of with my team. Next was a Charades guessing game, and finally a weird arm wrestling competition, but with legs. We then had lunch, and after went out to the field where outdoor competitions took place. To sum things up, the outdoor competitions consisted of: group jump rope, Dodgeball, a confusing dizzy obstacle type coarse, a race, a singing pitch competition, and I’m sure a few other events that I can’t think of. Long story short, team C won. You know it. After, we played an interesting version of duck duck goose, and I got picked twice. We then went back to the school, and the chairman bought a whole bunch of beer and snacks for all of us, which was really nice. Later on that night I met up with a group of Korean teachers and had a really good time. I really like hanging out with them. Too bad they work so many hours during the week.
Today (Sunday) one of the Korean teachers, Genevieve (her English name), took us sightseeing in the middle of Seoul. Genevieve is really awesome. She’s getting married in November, and I’m invited to the wedding. You know that you all will be updated on that day; it should be really fun. Anyway, I can’t remember the specific names of the places we went to, so I’ll just talk about some of the stuff we did. We found this cool shopping type street where I bought an amazing water color, which I’m looking forward to getting framed. We tried silk worm larvae, which tasted really nasty. After that, we had an amazing lunch, and I ate the best Mandu (Korean dumplings) that I’ve had so far. We then made our way further into the city, and walked down a stream that used to be covered by an expressway. The walk was really amazing. I hope the pictures capture at least a fraction of how cool it was. We walked some more downtown, and stopped at an immense bookstore that had an entire English section. I didn’t buy any books though; I’m trying to watch what I spend until I get a pay check. When we got back to Bundang, Devan and I found a cool place to get our hair cut. I’m actually satisfied with how it turned out.
My goals for the up coming week: get English journals going for my 7 year olds, and practice my Hangeul.
Until next time...



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



20th September 2009

Very cool, Dave. Thanks. That's a lot of little acitivites to do in one day. So your kindergarteners are 7 years old??
21st September 2009

Sounds like fun.
Dave, It looks like you had a fun time. I can't believe you were already invited to a wedding. What an honor. Wow you are getting along great. Love Jamie
21st September 2009

Silk work larvae?! Way to take one for the team. :)
22nd September 2009

Weekend
Dave, Sounds like you had a really fun and busy weekend. It would have been so great to see you at that picnic, and actually see you competing in those games. What is Hangeul? I know it's great for you to experience all these new things. I'll really be neat to experience a Korean wedding too. Love You and Miss You. Mom

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb