Hey guys


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Seongnam » Bundang
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I realize that I haven't been writing as much as I want to, and I haven't put pics up. My only excuse is that I've been super busy. Between learning the new job and exploring this massive city I've been constantly busy. I think that this weekend should slow down a bit. I also want to apologize about not responding to the comments you guys have been leaving. I have been reading and really enjoying them, but I find myself getting online right before school or bed, so I'm either rushing myself or really tired from walking around all day.
I'm not going to talk about the cab ride yet, because I'm planning on going to bed soon, but I'll mention some of the things that are different here than they are back in the states.
It's a mandatory rule that shoes come off in business places (not stores or restaurants) and homes. You can buy indoor shoes, but they must not have been worn outside. It's acceptable for men to smoke in public, but women are looked down upon if they do. It is more common for women to hold each others hands out here if they're walking down the street. It is very impolite to be loud, outside or inside. Don't drink the tap water. Bottled water is super cheap though. Going out to eat is insanely cheap, but fruit, for some reason, is really expensive. If you try to speak the language while in stores you might avoid the extra "foreign" tax (not that the product is going to be expensive). Foreign ATM cards will not work on most bank ATMs. You have to find a generic one or Citibank.
That's it for now guys. Off to bed.

Advertisement



3rd September 2009

Shoes off
Could I wear my Homer Simpson slippers in the workplace? :)
3rd September 2009

Great Blogs Dave.. Martino's on friday?
3rd September 2009

tp
How is the toilet paper? I bet there's no puffy-soft charman there.
3rd September 2009

This is so much fun reading about what you're doing and it's educational too! I guess you are a born teacher. Thanks for the blog entries - glad you made it safely - can't wait to hear more! Love, Aunt Diane
4th September 2009

I look forward to every entry
Dave, It's really interesting to hear about the Korean culture and customs. By the time I get there in June, I should have a really good idea of what some of Korea is all about. It's good too hear too, that alot of things are so inexpensive. I'm really looking forward to my trip!! Love You, Mom
4th September 2009

WOW!!
it must be awesome to be in a place slightly different but really off! would love to compare the smells and tastes there and the sights must just be awesome! cant wait to hear about the taxi....
4th September 2009

Don't worry about a thing.
Hey Dave don't worr about getting back to me on anything I just want an address at some point. I understand you are probably overwhelmed and busy. i am sure everybody understands. I just want you to know that I am thinking about you and paying attention to your world. Just know that i care and want you to have a great experience. Let me know if you need anything.
6th September 2009

The toilet paper that the school gave me is pretty soft and fluffy, but the cheap stuff I bought looks painful. We'll see.
6th September 2009

Love hearing about...
your day-to-day experiences and how the people live and the norms. This is the part I appreicate so much when traveling - understanding the differences in cultures. Thanks for sharing your stories with us. Love, Aunt Carol

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0949s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb