T-minus five point two-five hours


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Paju » Beopheung-ro
July 2nd 2011
Published: July 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

After the raging debacle at 3:23 in the morning with the film crews on campus last night. We are packing our bags and trying to get ready for Vietnam. The two of us have gathered up all the information we possibly can about Vietnam and what it will be like for 2-weeks.

At this point our itinerary is vague but we are both very excited. Shauna just how excited are you about going to Vietnam? I don't know yet but I'm not packed so I am nervous (laughter) and I don't have my clothes packed yet. And I am trying to concentrate so leave me alone.

She's talking out loud to herself 'take what I need, not what I want.' Ain't that the truth.

Actually, I'm fairly certain I know just precisely what I am taking with us but then again, I could change my mind once I actually start packing the bag. As always we are going to leave here with one bag. Packed with clothes for 2-weeks.

"How excited are you right now, Aaron?" -- Well, I'm excited a bit perky. I think Julio Mexican Cuisine, we had for dinner is kicking in now. But I'm slightly agitated because of the lack of sleep I encountered last night. (I went to sleep at 5:05am thanks to a noise film crew outside, I'll post that in another write up later).

"I'd be perky and excited but the clothes I want are still hanging on the laundry rack, slightly damp from the humidity. So, I'd be much happier if my bag was sitting by the front door". You have to love her enthusiasm... she's in the bedroom singing songs. Could be flashbacks from last nights Norebong (Karokee) session for Devin's going away party.

"What's the first thing you want to do tomorrow in Ho Chi Minh City?" -- Get off the plane. She laughs. And eat lunch. "You don't think Asiana Airlines will feed us?" -- We might get breakfast but probably not lunch.

Honestly, I think we are getting neither. Probably a snack. Our flight leaves at 8:40am and lands just before noon. My guess is we'll get some random vegetarian cuisine, like preheated macaroni and cheese with a bread roll and butter.

This is why I picked up roasted soft squid at Watson's pharmacy earlier... Look I needed a travel deodorant, toothpaste, lip balm with spf and handy wipes. (it's a precaution in the guidebook to bring pocket TP. It's a personal thing.) Wet wipes for bum. Wet wipes for hands. Wet wipes for everything if you can. (I just made that up. Made you smile didn't it).

So, that's where we are at.
I am typing this lovely quicky almost ready to go find the transportation to the airport blog, while Shauna pains herself on the decisions for clothing choices she needs to make.

"What's your final departing thoughts?" Pheeeewsh. Bye-bye South Korea. I'm not departing yet so I really cannot say what my departing thoughts are really going to be? It's going to be five-hours and fifteen minutes flight time. I should be able to get in a pretty good nap.

Personally... I'll hopefully get a full 4.5 hours of sleep, slam down a banana milkshake, drink up my Vitamin C beverage and become anxious until we reach the airport check-in counter. Than I'll want to pickup any last minute items via duty-free at the World Class Incheon Airport, check out a few DSLR products to pass the time, grab a bit of breakfast and settle into the first chapter of my travel novel (purchased today) by James Patterson called Maximum Ride, School's Out Forever.

Yes. You've got me. It's a kids book. Teenagers I do believe. And its full of imagination, action, twisting plot and fun. Plus if I finish it during the next 14-days of travel, I can pretty much leave it someplace on any exchange book shelf at any random hotel across Vietnam and be happy with that decision.

"Here's a random thought... (from the bedroom)... have you seen the new toothbrush I bought?" Are you serious? (laughter from me). What does it look like? "It's an Oral B." What color is it? (I've located it sitting on our kitchen table) "It's pink." Do you recall anything else that will help me locate it? "You found it didn't you?" Now why would you think that? "It's in your hand, isn't it?" (I put it in my mouth and tried to talk) "No. What would give you that idea?" (She's laughing her head off and trying not to pee her pants).

Well... that's packing your bags at the last minute. Speaking of which... I am off to do just that.
The next blog write up will be from somewhere along the journey of our Tour de Vietnam.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb