"Is this cow?"


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Cheongju
July 19th 2010
Published: July 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Funny story here...

Let me start with the weekend. Our bodies and our wallets begged us to stay home this last weekend. I'm glad we did because it rained most of the time and it wouldn't have been too fun traveling in that. On Saturday we took the scooter out most of the day....Nick, Jake and I. Three people on the scooter....in a torrential downpour. We were absolutey drenched. We pulled up to the Nike Outlet and all the women of course had umbrellas and heels on. We got a few stares in our soaked rain coats and helmets, but we're used to that.

After Nike, the weather cleared up a bit. Since we were in another part of town we don't usually go to (thanks to Vicki) we decided to explore a little bit and find something to eat. The three of us can't say much in Korean, and we didn't have a phrase book or anything with us but we decided we'd be brave, explore something new, and live a little. We were like, "let's just go find something and try to talk to them and if it doesn't work, we'll eat whatever they bring us!" We weren't seeing much so I told Jake we should go to a side street because that is where we'll find something good. HA HA So we do, and we keep driving around and finally we smell something amazing...All three of us were like "yum." It smelt like barbecue and we were excited. We decided we had to go there. So we park the scooter and go inside. It's a tiny little, trailer like thing, with no one really there...but it's 4 o'clock on a Saturday and we're off the main road so we figure we'll try it. I tried to read the menu but I didn't know any of the words. We asked for every kind of meat we knew how to say, and the lady replied "aniyo," (no) to all of it. She spoke no English. She kept saying something so finally we were like "ne, ne" (yes) to whatever she said. She brought us kimchi and vegetables, as always, and then finally two bowls of steaming hot soup and rice. There was a lot of meat in the soup and we tried it and it was good and then we started discussing what kind of animal it could be. "It's probably dog HA HA HA," someone said, joking. I was like "No seriously though...what could it be??" We thought maybe it was a special part of a cow....we weren't really sure. We decided that we would call for our server and play a game of charades. Nick was going to flap his arms like a chicken, moo, and then oink in hopes of her recognizing one of the animals and nodding her head yes. When we called for our server though, a younger Korean man came around the corner. He wasn't there when we first ordered. As soon as I saw him I was sure he would speak English. So Nick pointed at the soup and said, "Is this cow?" and the guy got a surprised look on his face and quickly shook his head and said "NO.........(short pause)....dog." Quickly Nick said, "dog?" Yes, he nodded, dog.

The guy turned and started to walk away but then stopped. Nick had his back to him and didn't know he was still standing there. "DUDE, WE JUST ATE DOG!!!!" Nick yelled. The guy was looking at us, slightly confused..... I'm sure everyone in that place thinks we are a little slow mentally but it's true...we ate dog and we didn't mean to. The funny thing is that the night before I was at dinner with coworkers and we were talking about eating dog in Korea. I said, "absolutely not...I won't....that's just weird." Well, I ate it the next day. Oops...

Jake was glad it happened like that, us not knowing what it was, because he knows I wouldn't have tried it. Jake liked it though and had more even after he knew what it was. I kind of felt like throwing up....ha ha

We walked outside of the restaurant and while taking pictures in front of it, we here "ruff ruff" coming from a nearby home. We all turned and looked....and then I held my stomach. Poor dogs....

Later that night I googled it because I was so interested. It's illegal in Korea! It has been since 1984 or something like that but apparently that's just a law to make Koreans look developed and humane. It can be found very easily....and it's disturbing to hear/read about the ways they kill the dogs. It's a big issue in Korea. Many people disagree with eating it....I think most
ScooterScooterScooter

Jake is driving in this so he couldn't look but how awesome that there's a huge city bus behind us! ha ha
actually, but there are still the ones who love it and have always eaten it. I've had enough for my lifetime. It was a great day though and makes for a pretty good story.

The next day Ashleigh came to visit from Daejon. It was awesome getting to drive her around on the scooter. I'm still getting the hang of it but we had fun. We grabbed lunch at an awesome turkish place downtown. We both agreed it was probably the best food we've had since arriving in Korea. It's amazing and I plan on going back as much as I can. We did a little shopping, hung out in Starbucks and I took her up to the lookout where you can see all of the city. After that, we had a cook out on our roof again with everyone else. It was a great weekend, relaxing and fun....and I even found a kind of wine that I like! FINALLY! Thanks to Ashleigh 😊

Miss everyone at home. Intensives started here so I'm now at work 11 hours a day every Monday, Wednesday, Friday for a month. Pretty busy but I still hope to talk to anyone and everyone at home! SKYPE PLEASE!!! Love & Peace



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

MenuMenu
Menu

I took this picture so I could ask my students later....what I ate.
SoupSoup
Soup

At this point I still had no idea what it was.
Jake...Jake...
Jake...

...after he found out what it was
Me...Me...
Me...

...when I found out
Nick & INick & I
Nick & I

outside
Has KebabHas Kebab
Has Kebab

Yum!!!


25th July 2010

OMG
I can't beleive you guys!!!lol lol. I'm here laughing my ass off. You guys ate DOG??? lol. I'll be in korea next week with my husband. We are coming from Japan. I'm gonna be a strick vegetarian for the two weeks we are gonna be there. I dont trust those korean dishes. lol. This was a good laugh.
27th July 2010

Hey, Bet!! Thanks again for the blog! You are a funny and great writer of adventures!! Dog, huh? Whodathoughtit?? I'm at Maggie's and on Skype so hope we can talk tonight but if you are at school maybe not! Love and miss you guys like crazy! Can't wait to get there! Jeanne
30th July 2010

Nasty
Nasty. At least it will be an interesting point in conversations in the future. I must admit, now that I'm "temporarily" not having any international adventures, I'm a little jealous of yours. At least I can live vicariously through you :)

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb