The Internet Ate My Homework


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
August 23rd 2005
Published: August 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Okay, fuck this. I just wrote a huge long spiel about my hike up Geumjeongsan, and it was very clever. Believe me. But I'm too tired to write anymore, and the internet ate my entry before I could save it. I'll try to put the photos in the right order, but I'm really frustrated now. Maybe the captions will be better. Enjoy the photos, at any rate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The Dao of HikingThe Dao of Hiking
The Dao of Hiking

The path is the way.
Bitch-tit BuddhaBitch-tit Buddha
Bitch-tit Buddha

Seriously, what initially attracted my attention was the stack of jars that I saw from the train, but then I saw the Buddha, and I was startled and delighted.
From the Bottom of the Cable-CarFrom the Bottom of the Cable-Car
From the Bottom of the Cable-Car

Why the glove filled with water, you ask? Your guess is as good as mine. Probably better, since mine is that it's a practical joke.
RocksRocks
Rocks

There are stacks of rocks all over the temples and beaches here. It's a national pastime, apparently.
Man...that's kind of gross.Man...that's kind of gross.
Man...that's kind of gross.

Nothing better than a picture of your buddy while he's taking a leak. Mark's expression here is great.
East GateEast Gate
East Gate

This kid held up the stick at just the right time.
East Gate IIEast Gate II
East Gate II

Another shot of the gate. The one with the kid. And the stick.
NaptimeNaptime
Naptime

The best thing about this picture is that the sleeper is a man. Things to note: the stockings, the parasol, and the empty green bottle of soju (Korean whiskey) in the grass.
MossMoss
Moss

This is some beautiful moss.
Upon the RidgeUpon the Ridge
Upon the Ridge

Pictured are my fellow hikers, Mark, and the two Canadians whose names I can't remember (sorry, I'm bad with names). Stupid short-term memory...umm...what?
Upon the Ridge IIUpon the Ridge II
Upon the Ridge II

Here's me on the ridge, looking like someone's dirty old grandpa with my black socks and shorts.
RocksRocks
Rocks

Large rocks.
Caution: This Coffee Will Not Enlighten YouCaution: This Coffee Will Not Enlighten You
Caution: This Coffee Will Not Enlighten You

But it's really, really good.
At the Vending Machine TempleAt the Vending Machine Temple
At the Vending Machine Temple

The artwork on the temples here is amazing. The colors are weird and dissonant, but complementary.
Beomeosa's Little HelpersBeomeosa's Little Helpers
Beomeosa's Little Helpers

Little statuettes of monks were present on some of the lanterns and near the piles of rocks. I think these are actually the industrious little guys who make the piles of rocks; but at night, during the full moon, when all miniature stone statuettes come alive. You didn't know that? Stupid you. Watch out, gnomes are particularly vicious.
Beomeosa IIBeomeosa II
Beomeosa II

Roofs, Canadians hiking companions, and a monk. What else do you need?


23rd August 2005

you're right.....
....the comments on the pictures made it all worth while!! ;) God I hate when computers act up, screw technology....or something along that line anyway! Okay, that was about it! Nice pictures as well...not just the comments! Hope you're having a good holiday! =) Regards Eva
24th August 2005

Bitch-tit Buddha ..
I have seen this resturant from the subway. The stack of jars got my attention, too. But I wonder if you know what kind of food this resturant serves. The red colored Korean word on the right side of board means dog meat soup. I hope that you understand Korean culture.
25th August 2005

Dog soup
I haven't eaten dog soup, and I probably won't, sadly. I just can't bring myself to eat something that has been intentionally tortured for me. As for understanding Korean culture, uh, no. But I'm working on it.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb