VJC Open house 2006


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 15th 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I went back to VJC (Victoria Junior College) for its annual open house. Normally I go back to VJC every year for its open house, but last year I didn't go because I was in Vancouver. I'm one of the very rare people who went back every single year after I graduate from VJC, because my VJC art class had only 4 students and we were very close to our art teacher. Every year, I would go back to view the A-level art projects and chat with my art teacher. Today, I saw the A-level projects for this year and most of them are very impressive. One of my favourite is this tribal mandala made of sand and soil inside this classroom. Another of my favourite is an installation of panels depicting children using pop-art style graphics. One visitor commented that the A-level projects are better than the Biennale exhibits!

In VJC I also met my old classmate Zhirui and my senior Pei Kang. (I haven't met Pei Kang for more than 5 years, as he went to UK for his studies.) I also met my civics tutor Miss Ding, and she was surprised to see me. Somehow everyone still looks roughly the same as 6 years ago... Mr Tang with the same big spectacles, Miss Ding with the same long hair, Zhirui and Peikang with the same faces, etc... The only evidence of the passing of time is the presence of white hair on Mr Tang's head. Zhirui, Peikang and I jokingly said that the white hair comes from all the stress of monitoring the A-level art projects... (Almost every art student tends to procrastinate and slack for the first few months and then starts to rush and panick towards the deadline...)

However, the campus underwent a lot of changes. In 6 years, a new performing centre was built, most of the classrooms (including the art room) became air-conditioned, new facilities such as a student lounge, a artificial rock mountain and a tree-house were built, the tables and chairs in the canteen were changed, plasma TVs and wireless internet were installed everywhere, etc... Even the A-level curriculum is undergoing lots of drastic changes, such as the implementation of project work and the switch to the H1, H2, H3 system.

Despite so many changes, VJC is still as vibrant and refreshing as ever. Even though I graduated from VJC in 2000, I still feel attached to VJC and my 2 years in VJC are one of the happiest and most memorable days in my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

An A-level art project about tribesAn A-level art project about tribes
An A-level art project about tribes

This time with the lights on
The T-blockThe T-block
The T-block

The exterior looks the same as 6 years ago, but the interior looks very different thanks to the air-conditioning, IT facilities, and hexagonal desks...
The general officeThe general office
The general office

The place looks so different after renovation


15th October 2006

iam return back
hi isee what u sent to me thx iwell Advertise next mounth .... by

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb