Where is Kate?


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 30th 2012
Published: January 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was the first day we got to walk around. I was really excited to be able to look around on our own. We started off getting some complimentary breakfast at the bottom of the Hostel in what I assume was a resturant at night. The breakfast was awsome. Juice, coffee, eggs, fruit, toast, some weird pasta thing. Then we left and walked down a hill through Emily park which is super pretty. I can't get past how nice the weather here is. I love wearing shorts!!! no one knew where we were going and no one cared. I think we just walked untill we saw a large group of people, and following them we ended up in Little India. It looked like a lot of fun with a lot of shops and stalls but everyone wanted to keep wandering and not stop. I wish we had but I didn't want to be alone on the first day out. Next we wandered towards a bit more modern section of the city. Evenually we came to a road that looked like a main road and we saw a bunch of buildings with placards. This street reminded me of museums and historical sites that were preserved from colonial times in Virginia. We first ran into the art Musem which would have been nice to visit but apparently it is free to do in the evenings so I think we might go back. Next we pased a Catholic church. It looked really cool and I would love to go to mass. I am a little worried though that I will have to do that on my own. We kept wandering up the street and saw a bunch of other buildings which have some very unique arcitecture but mostly I was enamored whith how unique each building was. None of them looked the same and all of them looked well maintained. Eventually, we reached a mall and exhausted from the heat decided to go in.

I will admit I have never loved air conditioning more! And for anyone waiting to know when it was going to happen, this was where I made my first purchase. I bought the smelliest lotion I could find. I can't decide if I like it or think its too kidish but I wanted lotion really badly. As a matter of fact I am gonna put some on now ....

Ok for the 90s baby's it smells like futi-tootie lip gloss but untill something better comes along I guess I'm stuck lol now where was I OHHHHH the mall. Well I can now say I officially hate malls. It was large and really cool but about 20 minutes after being there one of the girls goes "where is Kate?" Honestly, at this point I kinda knew Kate because we were rooming together but I had yet to really talk to her. Now I will never forget her. For the next hour we looked for Kate, then for the hour after that we looked some more. Finally, someone went to call her name over the PA system but of course you couldn't hear it. They "announced" it three times then refused to do it anymore. By this time some people began to freak others like me assumed she left...(I definitly would have).

Finally, we left but right when we finally tried to escape the mall that we had now spent 3 & 1/2 hours in it started to rain. Rain is such a funny word. People in VA don't know rain. I used to think it rained in Florida,
SAM2SAM2SAM2

On of the feet missing from the statue is tied being used to hold one of the entrance signs bottoms down so they don't blow away
but now I know better. In VA it drizzles, in Florida it showers, but in Singapore it is a torrential downpour. I really hope this only happens once in a while because my shoes were soaked and they don't dry quickly. Anyway to avoid the rain we went back in the mall and by this point we are all hungry so we found a food court and chowed down taking picutres which we kept calling everyone...oh but minus Kate. It was fun and so far everyone seems normal...I'm in trouble lol.

Let me take a minute to describe this food court. It was like one you might see in the US but ten times cooler. There was a Juice stand and a stand for every type of Asian cuizine you can think of. I got delicious food and the Juice was legit. Not that nasty fake flavor kind that get labled things like purple juice. Also, the food court was on the fourth floor of the mall and had a perfect view of the city.

So after we ate it was still raining and we decided it was time to head back. We ran through the rain and got soping wet but we managed to walk the whole way back. It felt like a five mile round trip walk. I can't wait to see how far it was. Also, on the way back we ran into Dreux, our teacher. It was my first time meeting him and he seemed really chill. I mean when we told him about Kate he just shrugged and said "well there are a lot of you we are bound to loose one or two."

After our adventure ended I decided now was as good a time as any to do some writing, though I admit its been a while since lunch and now I'm HUNGRAY!

LOTS OF LOVE


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

City in the RainCity in the Rain
City in the Rain

This was one of the pictures taken from the Mall food court
ShipShip
Ship

This building looks like a cruise ship crashed on top of it


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb