My trip kicks off...


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
September 1st 2010
Published: September 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Left NZ on the 30th August. Sean very kindly dropped me at the airport. Flew to Brisbane, too easy, but then had a 7 hour wait at the airport. Well a bit more than 7 hours in the end as we arrived early and departed late. You try killing 7 hours at an airport where almost everything is shut - not alot of fun! In the end I did fill in the time reasonably well - used the Internet, read, updated notes in my iPhone, and tried to sleep, not very successfully as the airport was freezing. Note to self, check flights more carefully and don't have such a long layover if you can help it! Boarded for Singapore about 3am. Good flight, spare seat next to me - loved the space. I watched a few movies and slept pretty well!

I felt energised, refreshed and alert when I arrived in Singapore - amazing! Singapore airport was a breeze! I'd guess ten minutes all up from plane to taxi! I love that Singapore is so clean and so efficient! The taxi ride was also a breeze and cheap - $30. The architecture along the drive was inspiring!

Leah and matt's place was lovely! Leah and I started our catch up chat over a cup of tea when I arrived, and the conversation continued all day. Well, around Anu asking me to be quiet and directing the attention back to him! It was about ten when we picked Anu up from his school over the road - he'd grown up a heap from when I saw him last. For lunch we wandered to a local spot and had a local favourite - chicken rice - yum! Back to the apartment and then down to the pool for a couple of hours of sun and swimming. Heaven for me - it was a massive amazing pool - reminded me of what I miss about living in Vietnam. A nap and then me and Leah headed to the Arab quarter for dinner. Yummy. We struggled to get a taxi home and ended up catching the mrt - another local experience.

At Singapore airport now, about to head to Dubai. Will update more in Dubai, better go catch my flight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb