Chapter 5: Where girls drink for free


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
September 5th 2008
Published: July 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Lets start with one of the most bizzare things I have come across in Singapore related to my extensive clubbing/bar experience 😊 On wednesdays not only do girls get in for free into clubs (while doesn't happen often in the states, is not unknown in other parts of the world) but they also drink for free! Who has ever heard of such a thing? They have a separate bar for girls only and I think they get the drinks in a special type of a glass that cannot be confused for a drink someone actually shelled out money for. I didn't actually get to find out because since the drinks you did have to pay for were so cheap anyway (3 singapore dollars) and since I felt rich by getting in for free I never went over to the ridiculously crowded girl-only free drink bar. But they have signs everywhere that if a guy is seen even being next to a girl's drink (well, holding it actually but they sound so threatening) that he will unceremoniously be immediately thrown out of the club. And that ladies and gentlemen (boys and girls as they liked to say on my Malaysian air flight)
DSC00212DSC00212DSC00212

Ok... so it's new. But it's still cool-looking
is how wed became the hottest night to go out in Singapore. Now there is a lesson on how to create something out of nothing.

Besides going out on wed we also explored Chinatown and ran into this really new but really cool Buddhist temple.

Thursday was a complete waste by the time I got up with my hangover, moved really slowly. All I managed to do was get food, get soaked in the rain and find out when buses were leaving for Johor Bahru on friday.

Getting out of Singapore proved to be a lot easier than getting in, I guess they don't care if you leave and your passport doesn't work... But just in case we went through JB to Mersing in case there was any problems. I do have to get a new passport anyway, I barely have any spaces left for stamps - it wouldn't last a trip with more than 2 stamps.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

DSC00222DSC00222
DSC00222

Model of Singapore at the URA museum


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb