Pasir Ris


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 27th 2007
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mr. SandmanMr. SandmanMr. Sandman

A bad picture. It say "Hello Scotland from Singapore"
Went to Pasir Ris, a park on the east coast of singapore. The place was very easy to find as it was only a short walk from the MTR station, which was also the terminal point foor the East/West line. When i got thier I decided to hire a bike for a couple of hours as it looked like a long walk, especially in the heat of the midday sun. The bike looked new and came with a little girly basket to put my rucsack in.
I started of slow as i didnt want to kill myself with the heat. Did I mention its hot here!!! The views where brilliant. You were looking though palm trees and across the sand, towards the clear blue ocean and the Big rusty cargo ships that were sailing past. My first stop off point was the Garden Maze. It took me 5mins to complete the maze. Wasnt very difficult as i could see over most parts of the hedge. Went exploring through the small nature reserves afterwards. Never seen anything, but the noise was deafening. Crickets i think, or hope it was.
In the park they also had 'The Fisherman's Village', a small row
Pasir RisPasir RisPasir Ris

After getting my bike i headed straight down to the sea. It was like being on the island in Lost, but without the polar bears and stuff
of resturants across the beach. As it was early, most were closed. Looks like a good place to go too at night with a group of friends.
Done what all Glasweigians do. Threw stones. Into the water at least haha. Wrote some stuff in the sand and i had a few people watching me from a distance wondering what i was doing. When I had finished and moved away, i looked back to find that they were down looking at what was written.
The park also has plenty of spaces for tents to pitch up. BBQ pits are everywhere with vending machines dotted about the place. Everywhere in singapore you will find vending machines in the most unusual place. No one dares to vandalize them or damaged them. The are all spotless like most of the city and even in some places like where I am staying. Where my hotel is, its the most respectable part of the street.
The park has been the highlight of my stay in Singapore so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Pasir Ris2Pasir Ris2
Pasir Ris2

I knew I put Peter Andre on my ipod for a reason
Lovely coconuts Lovely coconuts
Lovely coconuts

The sign was above a picnic bench. Couldn't stop laughing at it. Its the kid in me I think
Pasir Ris3Pasir Ris3
Pasir Ris3

My own private beach, with a toliet block in the background if you look closely
Pasir Ris5Pasir Ris5
Pasir Ris5

My old bike with the girls basket at the front.
Pasir Ris6Pasir Ris6
Pasir Ris6

It sometimes helps to be tall. I could see over the hedges for the most part, making it very easy to navigate
Pasir Ris7Pasir Ris7
Pasir Ris7

Behind the tress was one of the nature reserves inside the park. I couldnt see anything though. However the sound of the crickets was at times deafening
Pasir Ris8Pasir Ris8
Pasir Ris8

A look out post. The trees where to tall to see anything
Pasir Ris9Pasir Ris9
Pasir Ris9

This is the centre of the park.


27th May 2007

Nosey
what did u write int he sand? haha
28th May 2007

Hi Dawn
Hello Scotland, from Singapore
29th May 2007

Lovely bunch of coconuts
Sorry, couldnt resist.
29th May 2007

Hi Derek
See, there is a kid in everybody
4th June 2007

Coconutes
Never stand under a coconut tree Hi Paul I see you are having a great time why don't you fly to India and we could meet 8<)

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb