Singapore - My first stop in Asia


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 15th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I left Sydney after 2 days on my own after the lads had left. It was a bit of a come down really and I wasn't really sure what to do with myself. I did a few sights, enjoyed the Paddies day celebrations (a week early in Sydney) and got myself ready to hit Asia.

I left Monday afternoon and arrived in Singapore Monday night, having 3 seats to myself on the plane, which was a nice little treat. Wasn't really too sure what I was gonna think about Singapore, not heard anything or seen to many pictures. The first day I was up at thge crack of dawn mainly because I was still on Sydney time and my usual midday wake up, was in fact 9am. I hopped on the Singapore Airlines sightseeing bus which was pretty nice and drove all over the city, the Botanical gardens, Orchard Road (which is just like Oxford Street but better), to the harbour, Clarke Quay (the nightspot and cool area) and just took it all in. First thing I noticed was how clean the place is, chewing gum is illegal so none of that on the pavements etc and trees and plants
World Famous Raffles HotelWorld Famous Raffles HotelWorld Famous Raffles Hotel

Dating back over a hundred years, the first luxury hotel, very British which I liked!
everywhere. My first lunch was a cultural experience, a typically Chinese restaurant called 'Hooters' in Clarke Quay. So traditional that they all dressed in the original chinese attire, hot pants, leg-ins and cleavage inducing tight tshirts (nice to experience the local culture I find). After a little light headed-ness I was off to see more. Actually did have a chinese dinner in the hotel that night, was a little hard pushed to find something edible, with jelly fish, shark fin soup, monkey head (actually tofu apparently) and other horrid sounding things. Not one to miss out on local delicasies, I opted for Sweet and Sour Pork and steamed rice, very interesting.

Next day I wanted to see Sentosa Island. This is a little island at the bottom of Singapore, which is made like a theme park. Beautiful fake beaches, thrill rides, a luge go kart track and a high observatory to see the city from. Was a great place and even popped into the Shangri La hotel for half a yard of beer, nice! I left mid afternoon by cable cart back to the mainland. Once back I hopped back on to the SIA tourist bus and saw a
Singapore Concert HallSingapore Concert HallSingapore Concert Hall

Very strange looking building but I love it!
few more sights. I hopped off at the Concert hall, which is an amazing looking building which is hard to describe, looks like a giant hedgehog or something. After the concert halls, I walked back to one of Singapores most famous landmarks, the Raffles hotel. Raffles was apparently the first luxury hotel in the world dating back to 1892 and I couldn't resist trying a Singapore Sling cocktail in the bar where it was created all those years ago, the Raffles Long Bar. It's a very strange bar, with huge bags of free monkey nuts on the tables and you just throw your shells on the floor, very messy but kinda fun. I kept throwing mine under a nearby couples table as a pigeon had flown in the window and everytime I did, he flew right over their heads and didn't realise it was me, fun!

The next day I was leaving Singapore and heading north onwards into Malaysia. I decided that I actually wanted to see something of the beautiful country side rather than just fly over it. So I opted for the train which was actually very good, for a few extra buttons I travelled first class
Merlion StatueMerlion StatueMerlion Statue

Not sure why but this is like the official statue of Singapore, half Mermaid, half lion, weirdos!!
and it impressed me. Business class style seats, tv in the corner and a lounge at the rubbish Singapore Railway station made for a pleasant journey. 8 hours later and we arrived in Kuala Lumpur Sentral Station, the Petronas towers glowing in the distance.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Singapore from Sentosa IslandSingapore from Sentosa Island
Singapore from Sentosa Island

View from the cable carts, a huge port in teh foreground. Possibly the biggest port I've ever seen
Me with half a yard of Tiger BeerMe with half a yard of Tiger Beer
Me with half a yard of Tiger Beer

At the poolside bar in the Shangri La
Inside HootersInside Hooters
Inside Hooters

Felt like a real pervert on my own in there!!
Sentosa Nice beachesSentosa Nice beaches
Sentosa Nice beaches

Old wooden style building in the water


16th March 2007

Perentian Islands
Stillers, in malaysia make sure you go to the Perentian islands. Go to the small Island not the big one I am sure it will all become apparent. Great snorkelling and brilliant beaches.
17th March 2007

KL
Hey u, was in KL 4 years ago and went to some wicked restuatants dirt cheap, amazing seafood all for about 5 quid a head plus beer in a street called Jalan Alore - probably not the correct spelling? Plus some cool bars on a street between Shangri La and the Petronas towers. Probably all changed now but was really cool would like to go back someday- so have a fabulous time.How long are you there for? x
11th April 2007

Blue 5
Miss seeing that t-shirt or the other variations. Keeping it real

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb