Oh, by the way, I'm running for Congress. How the hell are ya?


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
January 11th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Garibaldi


Garibaldi'sGaribaldi'sGaribaldi's

Found a photo of the inside! :)
Well, another story without photos... but another example of what a small world we live in...


Still being in Singapore, I've composed my evenings of mostly three options. First, if I'm feeling tired from a day of work or just in the mood to keep things low key, I walk over to an internet wifi spot here on base and check email, write a blog, research my departure route for when I transfer, etc. Go back to the ship early and get some extra sleep. Second option, I'm tired of the food on the ship (same fruit and veggies day in/day out), and I feel like hopping on the MRT (train) or walking to a nearby hawker stand or mall. I make a couple of hours of it, maybe drop by the Starbucks to use my Skype on their wifi or get a foot massage. Cheap. Easy. Still a pretty calm way to spend the evening, and still getting into bed at an early hour. Third, say for example on the weekend, I've got some energy to stop somewhere new, maybe take photos, stand in awe at temples. EXPLORE. I come away with a feeling of accomplishment, learned something new about a people, a culture, a religion, a region, maybe even about myself.

Well, last night I was mostly in the mood for a quick food pick up and a possible wifi spot, option 2, but things took an interesting turn. I am quite sleep deprived today, so forgive my inability to form fully coherent sentences. I've written previously about a kind family who own a couple of tailoring shops, here in Singapore. Though they're all fantastic, I have a particular fondness for the two sisters, Pam and Rani. We try to go out for a girls' evening or at least a dinner when I'm in town. Not knowing when, or if, I would ever make it back to Singapore after I transfer, I decided to have them make a cashmere overcoat for me. I know, I know... expensive, but it's a worthy buy and I will always thing of those two when I wear it. I've tried to pick it up for over a week, but things get in the way, getting off work too late or (silly me) forgetting to go.

I finally get off at a good hour and take the MRT into town... it takes about an hour to get down there, between the bus from the base and the train. I walk into the store... it's a madhouse! Full of probably 10 people, Des (the big brother) and Rani give me a big smile, pull out a beer for me and apologize for the delay. No worries, I've got a Tiger beer in my hand... I just walk over and start admiring some of the silks and other beautiful fabrics. (Yeah, a great marketing scheme... I'm such an easy mark sometimes) I notice a gentlemen sitting down like he's waiting for all these customers too. I notice his abnormally shiny and large ring... a Kingspoint graduate. So I strike up a conversation with him about it.

"So what do you do Krysten?" Well, turns out the guy was a helicopter pilot in the Navy at one point, a Kingspoint grad and is currently running for Congress out of Boston. What are the odds? We have a half hour conversation over a couple of beers and it turns out he has brought his colleagues from his company to the shop to get some customized clothing. I don't really DO politics, but I talk to him about some current events that I've heard of through my outdated copies of The Week (I'm still on November's news by the way). Nice guy. "Hey, Krysten, you should come with us to dinner!" Oh no, that's okay, I really appreciate the gesture, but I'm not really dressed for it and I don't want to crash your party. "No, no, no. I insist. We appreciate your service, it's the least we can do." So I ponder this and try to fade into the background a little as he converses with his friends in the shop. I'm in shorts and a cute top, but I've come here to get my stuff and go have a chill out night. Des walks over to me. "Krysten, you really should go with Tom. He's a fantastic guy and you'd have a marvelous time. Just leave your coat here, you can come get it again another day." What the hell... "okay, sure, thanks. I'd love to go."

What am I doing?!? The ladies (3 of them) have no clue who I am, think I work at the store and kind of roll their eyes at me. After I introduce myself and they figure out the story behind my invite, they play nice and I release my held breath more easily. There were about 14 of us altogether, a few lawyers, some financial types, but from many different backgrounds as well. We had an Irishman, Indian, Australian (I think) among us... they were all quite interesting. Now keep in mind that I've been away from Western civilization for a long time. I'm not so good around people anymore, especially sophisticated, well spoken business types and politicians. It was part of my hesitation in going in the first place. I've been working with the same small group for the past year, where being politically correct shouldn't even enter my thought process. I felt out of place.

I ended up in a taxi with Tom (the would be politician) and off we all go to a place called Garibaldi's. Nice name, I mention it's the California or San Diego mascot or state fish. I think I actually said the national fish though. See? I can't even speak English properly anymore. Anyway, it's the first in a night with many verbal blunders on my part... I eventually make a couple of funnies, but I feel like a social idiot.

What was supposed to be a "take away" night for me, turns into a $300 plus meal with champagne, white wine, red wine, limoncello, ridiculously decadent desserts, appetizers... are you getting that this is a five course meal? Uh, whoah... what a random turn of events, right? The first (and only) toast of the evening was "dedicated to the service of the active duty military at the table". If he had not been such a nice guy, I probably would have thought to myself "damn politicians always putting in a plug" and maybe vomited in my mouth just a little bit. But, I have to say, he left a good impression and though maybe a little corny, he seemed genuine enough. Many of you know I detest politics, so the fact that I can say anything nice at all is a big deal and should speak magnitudes for the guy.

By the end of the meal (now taking about 2 and a half hours and we still have the coffee to drink), the libations have had their desired effect. I'm happy, full and ready for bed. I say my farewells, turn down the offer to go to Raffles Hotel for a drink, and turn down their offer for a taxi. I should be able to catch the last train back to the ship... so that's what I do. I should say I passed out on the train. Oh yeah, I snoozed for about half an hour, didn't miss my train stop, but was only minutes past the bus leaving for the base. Grrr... it's only a $5 Sing cab ride, so I make it back right at midnight. Cinderella didn't turn into a pumpkin and she ate like a Queen. Did I mention they didn't let me pay? So, being sans overcoat turned out to be pretty lucrative... I love the randomness I find out here abroad.

Anyway, if you're interested, I looked up his website. Yeah, he's for real... http://www.tomwesley.com/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb