Feeling the Heat in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
January 29th 2012
Published: January 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to SingaporeWelcome to SingaporeWelcome to Singapore

Arriving at Singapore Changi Airport.
The flight from Hong Kong to Singapore was quite cold. I decided to wear my cardigan and quick dry pants instead of my typical hoodie and jeans in anticipation of the warm Singapore weather. What I didn't account for was the cold air conditioning we'd have on the flight. Our other flights so far have not been air conditioned, and I've often been quite hot in my hoodie.

So the flight was air conditioned. So what? This also meant I couldn't use my sweater as a pillow. We were put in an emergency exit row, which was great in terms of leg room, but also meant that we couldn't recline our chairs.

For whatever reason, I was much more fidgety on this plane ride than my other ones so far. I couldn't get comfortable, I couldn't focus on my paper journal, I couldn't sleep and I didn't feel like paying $5 for a cup of instant noodles.

Griff told me that I'd be crying for the air conditioning once we were off the plane. The humidity and heat were a welcome change for me. Griff's comment made me think of my mom, and how we are both total
Little IndiaLittle IndiaLittle India

Our hostel is in the Little India neighbourhood of Singapore.
wimps in the cold. Mom, you'd love this weather right now, despite the humidity. Around 7pm tonight, it was 27 degrees. Definitely can't complain.

The hostel here is much, much nicer than the hostel we stayed at in Hong Kong. We're in a dorm room, which is a change from the private rooms we've had elsewhere so far. The lobby is thriving with guests communicating with loved ones and researching future travel destinations.

I didn't sleep well in HK, so here's to a good night's sleep in Singapore tonight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb