Ipoh Hor Fun (Dao Ji Cooked Food) @ Tanjong Pagar Market, Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Chinatown
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tanjong Pagar Best-Kept Secrets - Dao Ji Ipoh Hor Fun

Wednesday, 30th May 2012

There is this stall in Tanjong Pagar Market that I patronised quite frequently over the past few weeks ever since my office shifted to this area.

The stall was manned by an elderly grandma who was probably in her 80s together with her middle-aged daughter. On the stall menu, there were only 2 items on offer – Ipoh Hor Fun or Macaroni. For $2.50 ($2.70 for take-away), my choice of Hor Fun came with a generous serving of mushrooms and fresh greens, 2 prawn dumplings and some chicken slices.

What made my Hor Fun so special was their homemade gravy. If you noticed closed enough, you would probably realised that their gravy was heated up slowly over a charcoal stove. Yes, charcoal stove in this modern era! This gave the gravy a very wholesome flavour that does not leave a trail of MSG after-taste.

This must be the best Ipoh Hor Fun that I’ve tasted in Singapore.

Whenever I have cravings for Ipoh Hor Fun, I would know where to go to satisfy my stomach. On days when I preferred a light meal, I would opt for the clear soup option for a less sinful alternative. Look out for Dao Ji Cooked Food the next time you are at Tanjong Pagar Market. It is just next to the very popular Lor Mee stall at level 2.

And I certainly hoped that grandma and her daughter would always be around to whip up my favourite dish of the day.

P.S. Budokan is in no way affiliated to the stall-holders. He paid for his meals on the eatery featured here. He was told that Dao Ji would be around till March 2013 when Tanjong Pagar Market closes for upgrading works. Until then, he would continue to patronise his favourite stall on a weekly basis.

You might also like:-

http://stqaprev.asia1.com.sg/Singapore/Story/STIStory_249306.html


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb