Philippines: Jewel in the Rough


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
April 4th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Philippines, in the tiny island of Lubang, North West of Mindoro Island is where I was born. It wasn’t until recently I had the chance to explore and really appreciate the beauty of the place of my heritage. Although Australia is now my adopted homeland where I spent part of my teenage years and entire adult life, Philippines will always have a special place in my heart.

Philippines is a Jewel in the Rough.


-- "The Pearl of the Orient". One must weave through the hustle and bustle of city of Manila to get to the beautiful remote places of the country. It’s the remote islands of the Philippines such as Palawan and Boracay that attract people from different walks of life. I am sure there are a lot more "off the beaten track" nice places that I still have yet to explore such as Legaspi - home to a perfect cone Mt. Mayon Volcano, Bohol - home to Tarzier monkeys (smallest primate on earth) and Chocolate Hills (thousands of hills/mounds), Sagada/Banaue Rice Terraces, The Hundred Islands, and Sorsogon - home to Whale Sharks called Butanding. These are the other places I will be looking forward seeing when I once again go back in the very near future. I will also come back to the island of Palawan to visit Nemo and explore the El Nido part of the island.

However, Manila (the capital city of Philippines) is probably the least desirable place to stay-in. Although, there is a noticeable progress in its infrastructure, it’s still the hub of pollution, over population and inexorable traffic congestion. There are still street kids begging for spare change. But what fascinates me about these kid was, they are happy and healthy. They are well-fed and always have this cute little smile on their faces. I gave all of my spare change to a number of kids and I was delighted to see them generously share the monies to the other kids. Amid the poverty, hardship and misery that exist in the Philippines, there is always kindness and joyful moments such as this that touches your heart......cheers ! ;>


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Taal LakeTaal Lake
Taal Lake

Tagaytay
Fruit StallFruit Stall
Fruit Stall

Tagaytay
Monitor LizardsMonitor Lizards
Monitor Lizards

St. Paul Subterranean Nat'l Park (Palawan)
Sad Monkey on the RoofSad Monkey on the Roof
Sad Monkey on the Roof

St. Paul Subterranean Nat'l Park (Palawan)
Underground River TourUnderground River Tour
Underground River Tour

St. Paul Subterranean Nat'l Park (Palawan)
Inside the Underground River Inside the Underground River
Inside the Underground River

St. Paul Subterranean Nat'l Park (Palawan)
Leaving ManilaLeaving Manila
Leaving Manila

Flight to Boracay


11th April 2007

there you are, and there's where I'll be
you really good in portraying something that's to far outback and remote. my heart is so much attracted to your pictures, stories and the name phillipines. good job and thank you for introducing a world that i don't know even exist.
4th December 2007

so proud...
i am so glad that a person like you who is still proud of where you came from warms my heart. Like you being born in the Philippines but brought up in another country but still manage to be proud of where i am from...i hope that you inspire many people who turn their back in our country...
17th July 2010

nice
17th July 2010

nice place.. always be proud to our country..
8th November 2010
Villa Escudero

amazing!
i want to visit this beautiful place,,maybe this coming month!!!
1st December 2010
Ati-atihan Festival

LEA
HAY MYTHI
1st February 2011

great places! I hope to come and see that someday.

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 32; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb