Tagaytay Day trip


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Tagaytay
June 12th 2009
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

These photos were taken last October 27, 2007.

I went to Tagaytay with my bf, my cousin and my uncle & auntie. We left Las Piñas for Tagaytay at 10 but didn't arrive 'til 2 hours later. We didn't realize it was a long weekend & the traffic was really bad.
Needless to say, we were starving by the time we arrived so my Uncle took us straight to a restaurant called, Leslie's. It is well located along the main road and has excellent views of Taal Lake & Taal Volcano. The food itself was your typical Filipino fare. We ordered bulalo, pinakbet, sisig, roast pork, calamari, kare kare and of course, rice. I had Ube shake & fresh coconut for drinks. Let me tell you it is the best ube shake I've ever tasted. Eversince I had that one, I've been looking everywhere in Manila & in the province, to no avail. Hmmmm

After lunch we made our way to Residence Inn & Zoo, it's not much of a zoo - more like an animal "sanctuary". It was a dilapidated place, I felt sorry for the animals. They were kept in such lousy conditions, the animals were emaciated. =( I guess in a twisted sort of way, when you think about it, you can at least be grateful that these animals have a home & weren't left abandoned or worse, killed. The main attraction for this place was its tigers, so we took the customary photos with it. It was really heavy tiger, too bad it was in sore need of a shower. LOL

After the zoo, we went back to the main road/highway, grabbed coffee at Starbucks. I'm not a fan but since my uncle & auntie were such big fans, we tagged along. I much prefer Gloria Jeans though. Anyway we hung out there for a while before making our way back to Manila. Traffic was equally as bad as it was on our way there.

We made our way to the Mall of Asia, had dinner there. Shopped for a bit before heading back home. The journey to & from Tagaytay was a major drainer due to traffic. Note to self, next time - ensure it's not a long weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The view from the restaurantThe view from the restaurant
The view from the restaurant

It was a really cloudy day & it didn't help that it was misty.
Yummy Filipino foodYummy Filipino food
Yummy Filipino food

Calamari, Sisig rice & Pinakbet
More foodMore food
More food

Bulalo, Ube shake, Kare Kare and BBQ pork
Tiger cubTiger cub
Tiger cub

We got to feed the cub, it needs a shower. The minders are on each side.
The lil bunniesThe lil bunnies
The lil bunnies

These were for sale too I think. They were the only healthy ones I saw and sooo cute.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb