A Traveller's Mystical Quest (Exploration To The Philippine's Island Of Fire)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Siquijor
July 10th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Siquijor, Philippines


[youtube=v25clnQeCto]
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls

Armie Yuson in Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor, Philippines
Who said that the province of Siquijor is one of the scariest place in the Philippines because of witchcraft and “aswang”? I strongly disagree with this saying. Those are just old folklore beliefs. I can prove through my pictures and videos that Siquijor is one of the best, if not, “The Best” place in the Philippines because of its rich natural treasures. There are so many activities you can do in Siquijor. It’s called the Island of Fire because at night, Siquijor’s mountains are blazing because of its richly populated fireflies.

My initial plan was to only have an overnight stay at Siquijor but when I arrived at its pier via the Delta Ferry, an air-conditioned vessel. I instantly knew that there was something very special waiting to be discovered by my eyes. When I entered COCO GROVE BEACH RESORT, an Australian owned retreat place, I immediately fell in love with the place. This I can say that I already have my new favorite haven where I can run to whenever my esteem is low. In here, you have your own long stretch of private white minute powdery soft sand beach in front of you… There are 2
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls

Armie Yuson in Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor, Philippines
olympic size pools where half of it is seawater… The Siquijorenos are very much welcoming and hospitable and another thing that I love in this resort is their food especially their grilled squid which I always include in my order in every meal, probably the finest grilled squid I’ve tasted in all of my vacations.

Siquijor is filled with so much nature adventure. Its mountains, caves, beaches, old churches and especially its famous Cambugahay Falls. It contains 3 floors of waterfalls, the first being the highest and deepest where you can jump. I’ve tried jumping twice, with 20 feet high and around 25 feet deep, it’s an intense feeling once you're in the air and gravity starts to pull you down. The foremost extreme feeling I’ve ever had so far.

At first, I was afraid to visit Siquijor because of the false hearsays about it. But I’m going to tell you, once you’ve seen, felt and experienced the radiance and charm of the Philippine’s Island of Fire. I guarantee that you will come back a million times to be ignited with Siquijor’s natural creations all over again…

- Happy Loner Traveller


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls

Armie Yuson in Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach ResortHappy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach Resort
Happy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach Resort

Armie Yuson in Coco Grove Beach Resort, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach ResortHappy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach Resort
Happy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach Resort

Armie Yuson in Coco Grove Beach Resort, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach ResortHappy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach Resort
Happy Loner Traveller - Coco Grove Beach Resort

Armie Yuson in Coco Grove Beach Resort, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls

Armie Yuson in Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Enchanted Balete TreeHappy Loner Traveller - Enchanted Balete Tree
Happy Loner Traveller - Enchanted Balete Tree

Armie Yuson in Enchanted Balete Tree, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay FallsHappy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls
Happy Loner Traveller - Cambugahay Falls

Armie Yuson in Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor, Philippines
Happy Loner Traveller - Man Made ForestHappy Loner Traveller - Man Made Forest
Happy Loner Traveller - Man Made Forest

Armie Yuson in Man Made Forest, Siquijor, Philippines


17th October 2012

Hello! Thanks for sharing. I learned a lot of things from this blog before we went to Siquijor. It is very helpful. I also want to do a favor to our very kind driver and tour guide when we went to Siquijor. He took care of our valuable belongings while we were walking around, he is very kind and did not complain even if we ended the tour very late, he is a very careful driver and knowledgeable about the island. You can try to haggle with him. Make sure to contact him before going to the island. Other drivers would give you very high prices and they will follow you like bees. His rates are very cheap!!! Joseph's contact number: 0906-953-4204
24th October 2012

Respond To Katie
Thank you so much for appreciating Katie and thank you too for sharing your short experience and helping a kind-hearted guide by promoting his job, after all, that is the advocacy of my blogs, to give more jobs to our fellow Filipinos... :-)
21st June 2015

cool post
Hey! I saw your picture in Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor while I was searching for my photos of it. Haha.. Siquijor indeed isn't a scary place. It may be thrilling to be on the island, but it's because of the many activities to be enjoyed. Anyway, it's really cool that you get to travel a lot and share your adventures. Keep travelling! =)

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb