Christmas in the Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Quezon » Pagbilao
December 30th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My parents have been asking to see photos so I will just write briefly about my trip.

Spent a week in Pagbilao/Lucena to see family. I ate way too much as usual, but managed to eat everything I wanted thanks to Tita Menchie. I spent a lot of time with my lola and got her a lot of presents. I think her favorite was the hot water bottle. I'll have to get her different covers for it while I can get them here in Japan. I had my students write her and Tita Menchie Christmas cards and Lola loved them. She read through almost all of them.

Not much else to report really...went to church twice and haven't been to confession in ages so I wasn't allowed to receive communion. I saw my cousin, Marie Chedd and got pictures taken with Tita Chit and Tita Menchie too. We should have gotten bigger sizes since our moms have bad eyes and need something bigger than wallet size to hang on to.

Christmas, we went to my cousin's house and a lot of people came over to eat and sing, etc. It's so weird to see my inaanak (godson), he is so big now! I hung out with the little kids as usual, I find I get along with them better than the adults, there's less drama.

I'm back in Japan now with another week before I have to go back into work. New Years will be spent in Shimane with my friends Karen and Yuko. Pretty low key, but I'm planning on cooking pancit lucban just to have that Filipino touch to the celebration.

Hope everyone is having a lovely holiday with family and friends!! Happy New Year to everyone!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

more cards to read! more cards to read!
more cards to read!

she couldn't finish them in one sitting
fruits!fruits!
fruits!

in the Philippines it's considered good luck to eat round fruits for the new year
bagong bahaybagong bahay
bagong bahay

well it's still being built, this is at the farm, my aunt and uncle's old house burned down
don't break up quezon!ldon't break up quezon!l
don't break up quezon!l

luckily that guy didn't win the election so quezon won't be broken up..whew
Christmas day!Christmas day!
Christmas day!

at Kuya Ager's house
makulit!makulit!
makulit!

with Patricia
cousins!cousins!
cousins!

with Marie Chedd before getting our pics taken at the studio


4th February 2009

How lovely
May, how great it is that you went to visit your family in the Philippines. Looks like you had a wonderful holiday celebration! I love your new hair cut too. How much longer are you going to be in Japan teaching English?

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb