Encenada Beach Resort


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Puerto Galera » Tamaraw Falls
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 6 - Encenada Beach Resort



On Wednesday, I had just finished breakfast at our lovely Mexican restaurant. For anyone reading this and wondering about food on Puerto Galera, I highly recommend this restaurant, even if you're not staying at Badladz. It is a Muelle Pier and it is part of Badladz. It is just scrumptious...maybe I've been deprived of food living in Korea but I still have orgasmic daydreams about the food there.

As I was tottering back upstairs from my ecstasy inducing meal, all these guests showed up at check-in. So far, there had been few guests and we had been tended to very well. Not only were these guests ancient in age, but they also looked grouchy as they were shaking their heads and frowning at the counter line-up. Now, who goes on vacation to a sun destination and frowns? I decided that the place was going to be far too crowded with unpleasant foreigners who were going to complain lots and make everyone miserable. Time to move. I had been looking at the fancy Aninuan Resort online and I knew I wanted go even though it's pricier. There are hammocks! Anyway, it turns out that even in the off-season during midweek, you should make reservations ahead of time. When I had looked online awhile back, everything was open but when we got there, the only room that was available was the junior suite which was over $150 a night. Maybe even more, I forget. So we were whisked away by the drivers to Encenada Beach Resort.

The name didn't trigger my memory, but I later on did remember that I had also seen this place online. It was peaceful, empty, and sunny! I loved it! We ended up getting a private cottage with a kitchen and living room that was beachfront. The beach was beautiful and there was one sunbather on it. The water was clear and there was only couple boat floating around.

My only complaint is the red ants. This is not really anything to fret over but the cottage we were staying in was also home to fiery red ants who covered the front steps. They were milling around doing whatever ants do. We were reassured that they don't actually go in the cottage but I was still concerned that I would be drunk one night and trip up the steps, resulting in me falling on my face and on the ants. This did not happen. I was far too paranoid. The next few nights, we also noticed sand-like substance on one of the beds. Greg said the granules were slightly larger than sand and everytime we wiped it off the bed, more would appear. It was strange and Greg convinced me that it was ant poop. Good thing there were two beds.

BONUS: The resort has a freshwater shower that you can wash yourself off with after swimming. The other beaches do not.

I hung out on the beach the rest of day. We met a Canadian woman who was teaching English at the resort. She had it set up like winter English camp for Korean students, but in the Philippines. Unfortunately, due to the current downfall of the economy in Korea, only one student made it. But you figure, how can anyone complain with sun, surf, and private English tutor? It turns out the student fears the sun and hates swimming. Figures. He's Korean.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb