Exploring the Calamianes (Palawan)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan
March 22nd 2005
Published: April 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Calamian Group of Islands (Culion, Busuanga, Coron)
March 22 - 28, 2005

Palawan - The Philippines' Last Frontier

The island province of Palawan has been declared as a nature sanctuary of the world, and for good reason. It is wrapped in a mantel of rainforests, outstanding dive sites, majestic mountains, primeval caves, and pristine beaches. It is surrounded by a coral shelf that abounds with varied and colorful marine life. It boasts of exotic flora and fauna, like the mousedeer and the scaly anteater, that are found nowhere else.

Palawan waters are among the best in the world, not only for diving but also for fishing. A diver's paradise, it has miles of sub-surface coral and rainbow reef walls which surround the coasts and coves teeming with rich marine life.

Palawan is the biggest province in the country with 1,768 islands rich with corals.

I have just experienced my best vacation so far. It's my second time in Palawan. My brief first Palawan visit was two years ago ( Oct31-Nov01 03). This was my very first travel that perked-up my adventurous side.

This second visit was the best! We have almost explored the whole Calamian Group (Coron, Busuanga, Culion). We have visited many islands in a cheaper cost, coz we stayed at Jeric’s relatives in Culion Island. We were island-touring w/ two boats, along w/ Jeric's parents, Tito Ted & Tita Fe, and some other locals.

Ditaytayan Island is amazing. It’s a private island, Tito Ted is a friend of the owner, so we were allowed to stay overnight in the resthouse. The sandbar is so huge. Super! It has also talcum-fine sand, just like the sand from boracay. You can access both sides of the island, so we have witnessed both the sunset and the sunrise, overnight.

Kayangan & Baraccuda Lakes in Coron are simply breathtaking. They're a haven for relaxation.

Our Itenerary:

Day1 - Culion Museum

Day 2 - Culion Island Hopping
Dalawang Isla ( lunch, swimming, snorkling)
Bulalacao Is.
Ditaytayan Is. ( bird watching, watch the sunset, overnight, walk along the beach while watching the sunrise)

Day 3 - Banana Is.
Calanggaman Is. (lunch)

Day 4 - Stroll along Culion Town, attend Holy Friday Mass and Procession

Day 5 - Busuanga Island Hopping
Calauit Is. Wildlife Safari
Black Is.
Panlaitan Is.
Pamalican Is.

Day 6 - Coron Island
Kayangan Lake
Barracuda Lake
Maquinit Hot Spring

More pics at : Palawan

Expenses:

Php 3,030 - Airfare (Manila - Busuanga) Mar 22, 845am
1,280 - Ferry Ticket (Coron - Manila) Mar 27, 845pm
4,500 - Food, Transpo, Tour
300 - Pasalubong (cashew)
-------
Php 9,110 - Total Expenses

Getting There/Around:
Asian Spirit and Seair has regular flights to Busuanga. From Busuanga, take a jeep going to Coron Town (Php 150.00 fare). From Coron Town, ride a boat going to Culion Island (Php 100.00). You need to hire a boat to tour around the islands.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



5th February 2006

beautiful pics
thanks for showing these beautiful pics of the place. Visitors will have an idea of what they are going to see in palawan.
18th February 2006

what a beautiful my motherland
this is my place where i was born..
25th March 2006

I was born in Culion Palawan and I been longing to go back there. The nuns in Palawan raised me up." a thrown out orphan " The last time I went there was 1974. You make my heart ache when I see those pics. I wish I can share the beauty of Palawan (in real) with my husband , but I am bit leery after hearing all the kidnapings of foreigners.
2nd May 2006

today's centennial year
this may 2006 is the centennial year of culion palawan, i wish to there but because i'm here in saudi arabia i can't go back to my homeland. uhuhuhu.....
8th June 2006

Going back to my roots
I want to visit a place called chindonan, where i was born. My both parents are indigenous people of the place, or better known as tagbanuas...for long years of craving, i want to discover the place and have it documented ...and learn how my biological parents lived in a nomads way of life...i am researching too about indigenous people's resource act and the delineation of Ancestral Domain for triba habitat ancestral zone...for my roots preservation..anybody interested to go??
13th June 2006

back to the roots
Hi, my biological father is from chindonan culion. My adopted family and some of my friends are planning to have a nostalgia trip to see the place. I heard that native tagbanuas were discrimanately displaced to their natural ancestral domain and nobody cares and helping them out in their land claims for tribal habitat ancestral zone. Am planning to make a research for this fact..Is there somebody out there to help me? thanks for letting me place into your blog..have a peaceful day for us,,
1st July 2006

i would like to communicate thru email with those people born in Culion and the nearby island me too i was born there in Culion graduated at St. Ignatius Academy in the year 1968 anyone interested in contacting me please feel free to write me here is my email address mateodollentasjr@aol.com at present im living here now in Carson City, Nevada formerly in San Francisco, California thank you
10th July 2006

Pls.Join Culion_Palawan_Online
Hi peeps...I've been reading ur messages and thought all of you are homesicked...well, there is an online e-group where people from Culion regardless of where they are now,talk to each other and share their experiences and accomplishments. Pls. try to visit the site.http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Culion_Palawan_Online . Everybody from Culion is welcome to join and post their messages.
20th May 2007

Just came back from Culion May 2007
I just came back from Culion Palawan in May 2007. My mother was born and raised there. And this is only my second time in Culion, the lfirst time when I was 14. Its been 19 years since I was there. This visit was not for pleasure unfortunately. My mother died and I know this is the place she would want to be buried. I came to Culion to bury my mother there who died at early age of 56. It was a tought trip I tell you from Phoenix Arizona. I took a 16 hour flight and once we arrived to manila had to catch the Super Ferry immediately (walang oras magpahinga) then another 12 hour Ferry Trip then once we arrived in Coron, we took a 2 hour Bangka trip to Culion. I brought my american husband and child (age 4) who never been to Pinas before. We were exhausted of course by the time we reached our destination, 30 hour total trip! My husband and I were impressed with the people in Culion. They are pure-spirited and very hospitable. The people there still have that innocense that has no maliciousness. When they become your friends, its not fake like the people here in America or in Manila. Unlike America, walang pakilamanan ang mga tao dito, hindi katulad doon, masaya paligi ang mga tao. People in CUilion live a simple life yet they are happy. They only have electricity ony for 12 hours out of one day and water only comes once a day. I only hope this past election in May 2007 the government will finally give Culion a break and give them 24 hour electricity and more water supply just like Coron has. But Coron is a tourist island who has some tourist investors who probably demand 24 electricity and more water. Culion is a still a virgin island, thats was so beautiful about it. It has its historical Cathedral sitting on top of Culion front, beautiful beaches. I inherited 8 hectares of a beach in CUlion by the way. Anyway, Look at Culion. No one is homeless there, everyone has there own bahay kubo. No one is hungry, as long as you have rice, you can eat fish or manga and you can eat. I havent found a single malnourshed person or child yet on this island. Unlike America, we have so many homeless people. My husband met a man named Ray, who was my mothers childhood classmate, he spoke good english and shared a San Miguel beer with my husband. This man, Ray said "there is no way you can convince me to go overseas to any country, not even to live in Manila, I love it here in Culion, everyone knows each other here, walang pilipino naglolokohan sa isat isa, we all help each other here in Culion. Life is simple here Ray said but I see and spend time with my family everyday, people arent fake and morals of people here havent been tainted by american morals yet." Ray left an impression on my american husband. Its true we have bigger homes in America and maybe better food, but friends you meet here are really loyal and true to you, and 50% of all marriages in America end in divorce, having dinner with your family is a luxury here, you spend your whole fuckin day working. You work, go home, work go home so you can afford to live here in America, theres so many bills to pay you feel like your imprisoned by your own job. My 4 yr old child cant leave the house here in America becuase neighborhood kids here have maliciosness and dont even care to play with her, you cant leave your child outside to play in park becuase we have the sickest people here in America (dito na yata tinambak lahat ng sira ulo) becuase there are sex offenders who live next door (why dont you check the sex offnder website and put in your zip code and see for yourself how many listed sex offenders you have living near your house). Your friends here dont really care about you here in America, when your in trouble you know who you real friends are...When my mom died, not a single friend came to my rescue, how sad is that? Anyway, in Culion, they would wake up by 4am and by 5am knock at my door to wake me up to serve me breakfast. And they had to travel half a mile to bring me this breakfast. I was so touched. Has anyone here in America or whatever country your in right now, ever made you feel that welcomed yet? No huh. Ray said, happiness is a choice you make. It is isnt it? Its how you view your life the way it is, sometimes we think the grass is greener on the other side, only to feel to empty and lonely once you left your hometown. My mother was a great woman, she traveled to 30 different countries but she always had to visit Culion. This is where her heart is, this is where she felt at home. When I first visited Culion as a child, I couldnt appreciated it becuase it was no luxury living probinsiya style. Now that Im 33 and I visited Culion for the second time, now I see why my Mom loved this place so much. I returned to Phoenix Arizona just 2 days ago, I feel like I left my heart somewhere. Though I appreciate this nice big house I live in, it feel doesnt have the same aura I felt in Culion. There is a saying I would like to end this with. "A chair is still a chair whether someone sits in it..but a house is not a home unless there is a real family in it."
22nd May 2007

Wow our very own safari
This is part of my must-see places before I die! well done. rey
22nd August 2007

many thanks
thank you for the photos on this website. i now live in brisbane, australia since May 2007. i was born in culion. lived in sydney for 13 years and lived in culion from 2002 to 2007. anyone is welcome to email me libbyplaza@hotmail.com
10th February 2009

Fantastic Culion
I was born in Culion and will always be proud to say that I grew up in this beautiful yet simple Island of Palawan. I would like to invite everybody to visit and experience the warm hospitality of the Culionian.
21st September 2009

ditaytayan island
hi. i was just wondering if we could also stay overnight at ditaytayan island? is there any resort there? thanks:)
13th October 2009

hospitable and loving people of culion palawan
hi there i was born in culion palawan and i was graduated in St. IGNATIOUS ACADEMY WAY BACK 1983 I BEEN IN SAUDI ARABIA FOR ALMOST 11 YEARS, I JUST WANT TO SAY THAT MY HOME PROVINCE IS THE BEST PLACE I COULD EVER IMAGINE I LEFT ALL MY MEMORIES IN THAT BEAUTIFUL ISLAND WHERE PEOPLE ARE SO KIND AND HOSPITABLE I REALLY MISSED MY YOUNGER YEARS LEAVING THERE... HOPING THAT SOMEDAY SOMEHOW I CAN BRING MY FAMILY THERE.. REMEMBERING THE PAST ALWAYS ALWAYS MAKE ME SMILE PARTICULARLY THOSE FOOLISHNESS I HAD DONE DURING MY ELEMENTARY AND HIGH SCHOOL LIFE.... I HAVE ALWAYS BRING AND BEAR IN MIND THOSE TEACHING I LEARNED FROM MY ALMA MATTER AND THE KNOWLEDGE THAT BROUGHT ME FOR WHAT I AM NOW IS BECAUSE THEM... MISSING A LOT THOSE WONDERFUL BEACHES SURROUNDED THE ISLAND, MARINE LIFE THAT YOU CAN ONLY ONLY PERFECTLY SEEN IN PALAWAN PARTICULARLY IN CULION.... I MUNICIPAL LEADERS OF CULION PALAWAN WILL PROTECT THE REMAINING NATURAL RESOURCES LEFT SO THAT THE NEXT GENERATION WILL TEACH TO GENERATION TO GENERATION THE IMPORTANCE OF THESE LEGACY WE HAVE... YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT alex_cahigas@yahoo.com... till next time GOD BLESS US JHUNE NILLAS
25th October 2009

a beautiful place to look back
its been 22 years ago last time around in my province to look for my sick sister marilou since then i still dreaming to see once again my home land nakkamiss tlaga ang isang lugar na iyong kinalakihan na humubog at luminang sau kung ano ka ngayon sa aking murang isipan kahit minsan ay hindi pumasok sa aking isipan na aabot sa napakatagal na panahon na hindi ko man lang muling nadalaw ang aking province alam ko at dito sa puso ko ang isang mithiing muling mamasdan ang natural na kagandahan ng isang isla na pweding ipagmalaki sa buong mundo sana kunh sino man ang namumuno sa bayang ito ay patuloy na pagyamanin ang likas na yaman upang ang mga susunod pang hinirasyon ay makita rin nila ang tunay na ganda ng culion palawan i've been in abroad for almost 11 years and yet to see my province for two decades now... i remember my younger years in culion during saturday and sunday i used to swim and catching fish and sometimes went to Gitna to find birds egg like bato bato kilyawan pugo and a lot more we used to make birds trap particularly quail... maliliit na bagay pero ang sarap maalala dahil ang probinsyang ito ay sagana sa wild life at sana hanngang ngayon ay naririyan parin.. i just sad to remember almost every summer time mountains were got inflame due to kaingeros sana this time totally eradicated na lahat ng ito matoto sana tyo sa mga parusa ng kalkasan at hindi natin pagsisihan sa bandang huli paalala lang po ..... till nxt jhune nillas po palaweno sa isisp at sa gawa
16th January 2011

wow...
Wow, those pictures are so breathtaking... I'm so glad we are going there this summer!

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb