On the Home Stretch


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » Puerto Princesa
May 13th 2014
Published: May 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Only one more weekend before I go home to Sydney. It actually feels like I'm just on a regular holiday now, given that I have so little time remaining, and since my condo lease expired and I started staying in hotels.

I've just spent a week in El Nido which was great, and finally got my PADI diving certification.

I'm not sure if there isn't a bit of a lull now, though. A week and a bit to go, and it feels like I've done everything I wanted to do. It doesn't help, either, that I've finally exhausted my budget that is my travel card.

It's a bit sad to think this way, but it's time to start planning how I'm going to re-adjust to Sydney life. There was a time when the city of Sydney held appeal for me. It was a real buzz when I first lived in the city. I felt like I was at the heart of the action, as opposed to a dour residential suburb. Then I got a job in the city, and I enjoyed the aura of the big corporations and people in suits, people with money. I even enjoyed getting the train with the throngs of 9-5ers, all focused and in their office clothes. I can't say that applies to me anymore. Sydney feels shallow to me. The whole corporate climbing thing, the chasing of success, the glorification of money, the lust for status, it feels misguided. Put simply, I don't want to go back.

Changes are needed. The thrust of the next 1-2 weeks will be deciding what those changes are. As my Buddhist uncle said after coming back from a 3 month retreat, "the purpose of a retreat, is to come back." Wise.

Advertisement



14th May 2014

the need to move somewhere else
I felt the same after traveling this year. That I need to move somewhere else. But theres nothing for me to do in rural areas since I'm a finance guy. Now I wish I learned a skill when I still had no financial responsibilities. Good luck!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb