A Hundred Thousand Hits My Foot!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Metromanila » Makati
June 18th 2012
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

100,000 HITS NOW!100,000 HITS NOW!100,000 HITS NOW!

Yes, 132 blogs and 2,850 photos after.......
I know, it's no big deal. But hey, I like how I feel now. Just got wind of it last week when I checked how my latest blog was doing in terms of hits. I must confess the countdown to 100,000 hits was exciting by itself.



I never kept tab of how many countries I have visited. Should be nearly or slightly over 40 by now. I have not covered as much of the globe (and as luxuriously) as Pierre-Alexandre of Maisondubonheur nor gone on long hauls like Ben Beiske of LivingTheDream . I do not write half as good as Jason of aspiringnomad or Jonathan aka Vinovat Sudarynya . My blog entries were never as engaging yet comprehensive as Shane's of Travel Camel, and my photography pales in comparison with AnnaAdventuring and KatM1987 . I turn green with envy whenever I browse through nickembel's blog entries, and wish I had the courage, stamina and spunk of Ed Vallance . When the Grey haired nomads break into poetry as they immerse themselves in the culture of the countries they visit, I am hooked! When Jo McCarthy writes in Japanese characters, I ask myself why I never learned another foreign language. When I read the future travel
JonathanJonathanJonathan

One literary genius. Just love how Jon writes and describes his impressions of a city, culture and peoples.
plans of D MJ Binkley and sense the enthusiasm in their blogs as they hop from place to place, I want to kick myself for my lack of forward planning.



In a way, it's been a journey. Inspired by some TravelBloggers whose every blog entry I eagerly devoured as an armchair traveler, I couldn't help feeling deprived now as Stuart, EuroTraveler, Mingalaba, LivingThe Dream, Sophie, KeithandPete, Michaelpaddo, twoforderoad!, Amyuyma, and PaulMac all seem to have either taken a leave from blogging or grew tired of traveling or writing or both. I perfectly understand Stuart's case since he just got hitched (woohoo! Congratulations, Stuart)but I sure hope the others would supply us more chronicles of their adventures and misadventures.
<td style="border-style: none; border-color: initial; vertical-align: top; border-width: 0px; font-size: 1.1rem; padding: 0px; margin: 0px;">


On the other hand, I welcomed the chance to meet other TravelBloggers. Jan and Polona of Ricecapades , Stuart, Ben , Peter and Mari. Soon, I'd be meeting David and Merry Jo. Too bad I was in Madrid when the TB Anniversary in Kuala Lumpur happened. I would have gone there!










<td style="border-style: none; border-color: initial; vertical-align: top; border-width: 0px; font-size: 1.1rem; padding: 0px;
Ed VallanceEd VallanceEd Vallance

No one comes close to what where and how this man travels!
margin: 0px;">







































So, what have we got here? Looking back, it's been 3 years, 7 months and 3 days. The scorecard has these stats and info:



Date Joined : November 15, 2008

Trips. : 17

Blogs. : 132

Photos. : 3,022

Words. : 190,018

Hits. :
Icon of Luxury TravelIcon of Luxury TravelIcon of Luxury Travel

I know, you'd hate me for saying this. But really, Peter, you make us all jealous! Safe travels, my friend! Hugs & kisses to the little ones.
100,000




More than these numbers, what really and truly count in my books are the friendships nurtured the last 3 years or so. For sure, TravelBlog can rightfully claim it is THE WORLD'S FRIENDLIEST TRAVEL SITE . I've met some of you, skyped with a few, exchanged emails, had dinners, and celebrated life with you. Really, it's been awesome to belong to this travel blogging community. More than any other time, I find much significance in what I wrote in my profile when I joined TravelBlog. Thank you, Ali , for bringing us all together.......






Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life!




I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept....




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

KatherineKatherine
Katherine

Stunning photography. Great write-up.
History & AdventureHistory & Adventure
History & Adventure

Lots of spunk this lovely lady! Anna seamlessly combines history lessons with the excitement of great adventures.
His Blogs Are AddictiveHis Blogs Are Addictive
His Blogs Are Addictive

Be warned. Ben's RTW blogs got me hooked. Traveled along with him....
Always, great postings!Always, great postings!
Always, great postings!

His writing is consistently good. Shane easily narrates his experiences in a manner that traps one to read till the end.
The Binkleys and JoThe Binkleys and Jo
The Binkleys and Jo

We haven't met, but we've exchanged emails, made Facebook comments and even skyped!
My Fav CouplesMy Fav Couples
My Fav Couples

These 2 couples are among my favorites. They surely know how to celebrate life --- my mantra!
Finally!Finally!
Finally!

We missed each other in Shanghai 2x, so we were eager to meet in Bangkok when I stopped over coming from Bhutan.
Another blogger I miss! Another blogger I miss!
Another blogger I miss!

And I haven't been to South America!
Ron and LorenzaRon and Lorenza
Ron and Lorenza

Something about their blogs makes me feel warm and fuzzy.
Two4deroadTwo4deroad
Two4deroad

They're funny, adventurous and impulsive!
THANK YOU, ALITHANK YOU, ALI
THANK YOU, ALI

Many thanks for creating the friendliest travel website!


19th June 2012

Congratulations on 100,000 views!
It is a great feeling to look at that Statistics page and see six figures for your total views. Keep blogging and push on towards 200,000!
19th June 2012

Wow, that's a fun entry Lili!!!!
Never saw anybody presenting it this way, but you did it amazingly well....now the question...what's the next step? 200,000 hits, or the million...whichever, it will garantee us a lot more reading of your adventures for the years to come. Sadly no plan for us for Philippines in the near future, but we are heading on a serious trip...in just a week!
19th June 2012

Hmmmm. *thinking*
Perhaps I should write a controversial blog and hit another 100,000 in 3 days instead of waiting another 3 years. [:)]
19th June 2012

congratulations on the 100,000 and on the great, original blog entry!
19th June 2012

Thank you, Ed
Must say....I'm your big fan long before I started blogging here. You and Jon and Jason must have inspired me to write :-)
19th June 2012

CONGRATULATIONS LILIRAM
Three & a half years...Trips. : 17...Blogs. : 132...Photos. : 3,022...Words. : 190,018...Hits. : 100,000...and still counting!!!
19th June 2012

THANK YOU
You are a great traveller. Hugs from Argentina. (I sent you a question on Philippines, have you seen it?) Graciela.
19th June 2012

I sent you a reply re rice terraces
This was my reply : "Sorry to say.... But the rice terraces up north in Sagada demand some hard work. Certainly not a day trip from Manila. Bus ride alone takes 10 hours."
19th June 2012

Way to go!!!
I've always wnjoyed reading your blogs and so have many others.
19th June 2012

Thank you, Bob
Likewise here. I just regret that I do not have as much time as before to rad as many blogs as I used to!
19th June 2012

Congratulations! Wow! Cool!
That is an accomplishment. You said you might write a controversial blog and get another 100,000 hits... that might be an interesting assignment. What would your topic be? Have a great day. Very cool.
19th June 2012

:-)
I'm open to suggestions.
19th June 2012

Thank you and congratulations!
Lili, thank you so much for your incredibly kind words! I don't think I'll ever be able to write as freely as I did when I was an active Travelblogger, but I might write a couple of new stories this summer. And of course, congratulations on your 100,000th page view :-) I hope you get your next 100,000 before the end of the year... Jon
20th June 2012

The Next Milestone
I don't know if I can come up with a controversial blog like Quartermaine's and attract 100,000 hits in few days! Or maybe I should write about eccentricities of "senior" bloggers. Lol :))
19th June 2012

Congratulations!
100,000 is a huge milestone. You're stories and travels will have touched countless people, you've put Manilla on my visit list :)
19th June 2012

The feet that keep on keeping on!
I hope I'm still blogging, travelling and pulling in the hits when I'm retired... BTW inspiringnomad is still available, Patent Pending ;-)
19th June 2012

Congratulations on 100,000
Congratulations on reaching the milestone, a great achievement! Love the 'community' way you did the entry :-)
20th June 2012

Definitely a milestone worth celebrating! Beautiful blog as always! xx
20th June 2012

Congrats!
We have been reading you from the first blog, and love how you intertwine past trips with new ones. You have taken us through your own country and have been a wonderful hostess. Thanks
20th June 2012
My Fav Couples

Dear Bigfoot!
Congratulations, Liliram. Just back from Poland and have read your latest posing. What a record and well deserved for your enthusiasm, love of exploration and determination! Thanks for the mention, but poetry seldom grips the imagination these days. We can't touch your record having only half of our blogs on Travelblog since 2009 - the rest, from 2004 on, were transfered from the inferior Blogspot to Travelblog in 2009 and had no recorded hits during that period! We recently hit 50,000, with 298,680 words (I'll let you know when we hit £300,000!). Keep up the good work! David - The left handed half of the grey haired nomads
21st June 2012

Awesome
Congrats and thanks for the mention! Keep writing!
21st June 2012

wow! congratulations tita lili...3 years after, mine is still barely 30k ...hahaha...i should work harder ;)
21st June 2012

Congrats!
getting a hundred hits is a milestones Lili! that's a reason to celebrate since anyway we are only comparing stats with our previous self, and that's surely is a great step towards another hundred! yeahey!!
24th June 2012

Thank you, attorney!
Nice to hear from you, mhe-Ann. Thanks for dropping by.
3rd September 2012

congrats lili!
sorry i'm a little late to the party - but a very big congratulations to you lili! =) i wasn't surprised at all to read you'd reached 100,000 hits (and probably lots more than that by now) - you write such great blogs, with beautiful photos, about fascinating places. looking forward to lots more vicarious travel goodness from you in the future too!
4th September 2012

Never too late, Michael.
Happy to hear from you! We've been missing you here in Travel Blog. Thanks for the kind words. Stay well.:-)

Tot: 0.882s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 47; qc: 221; dbt: 0.4693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.8mb