Start of my adventure - Manila


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila » Divisoria
November 30th 2012
Published: December 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well after 28 hour flight with 3 layovers in Chicago, LA, and Seoul, I am finally in Manila. I decided to stay a day here to get over the bad jet lag I figured I would probably have. I am staying at a place by the airport called salem domestic guesthouse. It is a cheap no frills hotel for people basically laying over in Manila with no desire to get into the city. You can get here for a 20 peso bus ride(about 50c US) and the room was only thirty bucks so I'm pretty pleased with it.

First Impressions of the Philippines

HOT!!!! But I love it. I always prefer to be hot than cold, and its winter in the Midwest USA so I am happy I am here.

The people here have all been very friendly so far. I must say I am surprised how many police are around. It might be because it is so close to a airport terminal. One guy was walking around with a big military shotgun slung over his shoulder. I am going to try to get a picture with him today if he is still around...I didn't have my camera with me yesterday when I saw him.

I ate a place called shakeys pizza. I had a solo lasagna and root beer float for about 6 bucks. Being close to airport im sure prices are higher than in the city. Ice cream definitely tastes different here but is still good. The root beer tasted the same.

Im looking forward to getting to Coron and out of the big city. The internet here isnt that great so ill have to add pictures later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb