Annawangin Cove, Zambales Dec 16-19 2010


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Luzon » Zambales » Anawangin Cove
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

We left Paranaque at 4AM and got to Zambales about 10ish. But without all the ado's its only about 4 hour bus trip from Monumento to the bayan. And then about 30 minute tricycle ride to the boat stop, another 30 minute boat ride to the cove.
This travel was an improptu decision. I always make the safety a vital consideration. Since my sister had been here, she said that there's nothing to worry about. I've been here before. Way back when there was'nt no development of the place yet. There was 4 of us. My sister who has her sense of thrill over these trips was on her early pregnancy. Considering her spirit, she would kayak even if she's about to pop during her first conception. She's not being careless especially she's always with a trusted group. second was my cousin who always came in handy. Then Rose, whose well known of pushing herself to the limit. So beware if she invites you to one of her "leisure" trips. I dont know but for some reason I always fall into her trap. Maaaannn!!! Anyways, and then there's me. The heaviest set of the group but would always want to conquer these trials.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Rose and I opted to hike. We were guided by two sherpas. according to these boys, without stops, it'll take them 2 hours from the flatland upto the peak and down to the cove. We took it for 5 hours!
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

As always, I was behind the pack.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

We lost count of the rivers and streams that we crossed. Anyway, it was always refreshing to cross one but at the same time the rocks and boulders were all punishing to our feet.
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Just one of the "call of nature" breaks.
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

I can't hardly smile anymore eventhough I took most of the breaks. Phew!!!
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

The awesome view at the peak. Straight down was the campsite within the cove. 3 hours going up the peak, then another 2 downhill.
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Unbeleivable acheivement! At least for me whose never in shape!
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

The pine trees around the campsite were all planted by nature when Pinatubo volcano erupted. Amazing work of nature.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb