Legaspi - Mayon Volcano


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Legaspi
March 19th 2006
Published: March 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mayon VolcanoMayon VolcanoMayon Volcano

A bit of a hike but well worth it
After updating my blog on Friday evening I had dinner at a restaurant down the road from where I was staying. I only had a taco as I was still pretty full from my pizza at lunch time, there was a trio with a female lead singer and they were quite good so I stayed for a few hours and enjoyed a few beers.
Saturday morning I checked out of the hotel, they only charged me for the one night even though I was there for more than 24 hours. A tricycle took me to the local bus station, the bus for Naga was just leaving so I jumped on, to get to Legaspi I had to change to another bus at Naga, no problem as the conductor looked after me. The trip was pretty slow as local buses make a lot of stops, still it's a good way to see the country. On the way I spotted a Maka's - see the photo.
Arriving in Legaspi I decided to stay at a place recommended by the travel guide, the Tunchaling Hotel. It's a nice place and only a short walk from the Pacific Shopping Mall, a bit more expensive than
MakasMakasMakas

Do you want rice with that?
the Dolor hotel in Daet though - 750 pesos (about $20). My room has a nice view of the Mayon Volcano, it's airconditioned, has cable TV and a reasonable bathroom. I had dinner at the Four Seasons (another guide book recommendation), I chose the Pancit Canton and washed it down with a couple of San Migs, the bill was 130 Pesos (about $3.50), even with a 20 peso tip it was less than four dollars Aussie, unbelievably good value. On the way back I checked out a place called Pier 1 near the wharf, the band wasn't due to start till 9pm so I didn't stay. Walking back to the hotel I decided to go past the far side of the Pacific Mall, there I came across the San Miguel Beer Plaza. The first band was warming up so I grabbed a San Mig (20 Pesos - about 50c) and settled in for the night's entertainment. There were two groups playing, both were excellent. The first group was called Crossfire, they had 3 female vocalists and one guy plus the usual array of keyboards, guitars, drums etc. One of the girls sang a great rendition of Shakira's "Underneath my clothes". The second group were a reggae band called Crossfire, they a did mainly Bob Marley stuff, there was a Negro guy in the audience who joined them in a song - "Buffalo Soldier". It was a great night with a really good atmosphere, lot's of families, young kids selling peanuts etc and a nice breeze blowing (it was an outdoor gig). During a break in the sets there was a beer skulling contest (no I didn't enter), there was also a dancing contest that the Negro guy won. I think it's on again tonight so I might just wander down.
This morning I climbed Kapantukan Hill, my old Lonely Planet guide recommended this as a good place to view the Mayon Volcano. It was a bit of a climb but well worth the effort, a couple of young kids showed me the way up so I gave them a peso each. I'm now in the Pacific Mall in an Internet Cafe updating my blog, I'll grab Japanese for lunch when I'm finished, there's lot's of food choices in the Mall.
Tomorrow I leave for Tabaco, Tuesday morning I'll get the boat to the Catanduannes and may stay there until I
San Miguel Beer PlazaSan Miguel Beer PlazaSan Miguel Beer Plaza

At night they set up tables and chairs
return to Manila on the 30th of March. I think I'll fly back to Manila from Virac as there's daily flights now. On the 1st of April I go to Davao with Mummy until the 9th, on the 10th Eleanor and the kids will arrive. Justine should bring her old mobile (cell phone) that she smashed as there's plenty of repair places here.
Next update will probably be from Virac, keep the comments coming or email me, I've received a couple already and it's good to catch up with what's going on back home. Bye for now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



20th March 2006

Hello there!
Hi Glen! Ever since I found out about "travel blog" from Ayen, I can't wait to read your travel updates!!! I am really glad you are enjoying yourself , places you've seen, food to taste, music entertainment with matching beers, and of course "nature!" I love the sceneries, Mayon Volcano is such a wonder! I wish I can see this for myself someday!!! I share your travel blog with Boy and Josh. . . Josh can join you anytime, with the food you've been eating. . . you know he loves "taco" so much, and of course Pizza, and his new fav - Japanese Terriyaki Chicken. I spoke to Maribel and Mom last Saturday, and they shared stories about your first few days in Manila. . . of course a "repeat" of your stories on this diary. I can't wait to hear what and where to . . . next. . . Take care always, Sue, Boy and Josh
22nd March 2006

Inspiring Photography
Hi Glen....I've been planning travel to the Philippines end of this year. After, viewing your travel blog, I decided to add Mt. Mayon to my list. Your photos are very inspiring...pls. keep them coming as I will continually visit your site to check on your updates. I am also intrigued the way you observe things like the kids selling peanuts for example, which usually getting overlooked at by visitors. cheers, Johanna email: j_creer@yahoo.com
2nd April 2006

Kumusta and mga tugang tang Bicolano
Hello. It's alway good to see and read about Albay and the wonderful world around Mayon Volcano, "The Eight wonder of the World"! Experiences you're sharing with everyone now is hard to find, even from the Internet. Isn't it great to have these kinds of websites! Sana ipagpadagos mo ang saimong pag-istorya kang mga habihabi sa satuyang banwa. Mabalos sa imo. - Henry from Mississauga, Canada
26th June 2009

asking
how ,many hours to take from legaspi city to volcan mayo?please asap lang talaga..student po..hmmm
3rd September 2009

Travel time
It took me about a 8 hours in total but I took slow buses that made a lot of stops. I'm sure the tripo can be made in much less time in a car or by a direct bus that doesn't make so many stops...Glen
25th November 2009

tour agency mayon volcano
hello, can you pls recommend a list of guided tour operators for mayon volcano. planning to hike feb'2010. salamat po.
2nd September 2010

contact
for your mt. mayon climb you can contact us @ 0918-562-6347 or email us at pentravel.bicol@gmail.com. thanks !!!

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb