My first few steps


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Iloilo
August 18th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Battery SmithBattery SmithBattery Smith

This Canon is named after Lt. Smith. Corregidor Island, Philippines
Last February, I went to the Bicol provinces of the Philippines. This region is known for the majestic Mayon Volcano. Majestic in the sense that this volcano has a perfect coned shape. Seeing the Mayon is one of my reasons why I went here, but for the second reason in mind was to have my first shot in the sport called WAKE BOARDING. The water sport facility is found in the province of Camarines Sur. Its 9 hours away from Manila by bus. Along with this blog, you can see some of the photos I've taken. For me, it's one of the best place to visit if you are in my country. The bad thing about this trip is that there was a typhoon and I wasn't able to see the Mayon Volcano. There was to much clouds in the sky, not a single site of the volcano was visible.

I spent two days in Camarines, but my adventures were not yet over. When we arrived in Manila, three days after, me and my partner booked a trip to Corregidor Island. Corregidor is 45 minutes away from Manila. This island plays a significant role in our history. During the Spanish
9 Hours bus trip9 Hours bus trip9 Hours bus trip

Together with my activity partner. Shot taken few minutes before our bus left Manila
times, it was used by the Spaniards as a fort and at the same time a garrison. The fort protect the city of Manila from Chinese pirates. In the American times, the fort was further fortified with better guns and canons. During World War 2, it became the last stronghold of the American-Filipino resistance against the Japanese Imperial Army. When the Japanese were losing the war in the Pacific, it became there last safe grounds before they killed themselves with bayonets and dynamite.

Just enjoy the photos of my trip...


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Soaking Wet!Soaking Wet!
Soaking Wet!

After the nine hours bus ride, we still have plenty of energy to fool around.
Comfy bed for me!Comfy bed for me!
Comfy bed for me!

CAMSUR has a world class accommodations. And believe me, its not expensive. This room cost only P1000.
Our Room!Our Room!
Our Room!

Its a container van. It does not look cheap if you are outside. No kidding, its really very cheap.
Our neighbors!Our neighbors!
Our neighbors!

most of our neighbors were still sleeping when we arrived. We can still hear them snore.
In full gearIn full gear
In full gear

We spent are first day in the waters. It was raining hard, but no body can stop us, even mother nature can't do anything to stop us. We're hungry for more.
Activity Partners for LifeActivity Partners for Life
Activity Partners for Life

The young, the daring, and the adventure hungry duo.
Another day for Wake BoardingAnother day for Wake Boarding
Another day for Wake Boarding

After a wonderful night of rest, I'm up for another adventure. I want more!
The View s are simply amazing!The View s are simply amazing!
The View s are simply amazing!

You'll love this place. Other than the cool place, the views are breath taking. At my back is a dormant volcano. It's not Mayon, but because it was a cloudy day, you can't see a thing.
Making a line!Making a line!
Making a line!

This is the place. It's were we make a line and waiting for our turn for the poles. I think we were the only Pinoys in the line.
The pool is great!The pool is great!
The pool is great!

My body is killing me with body pains, a dip in the pool makes a big difference.
That's not meThat's not me
That's not me

How I wish its me!!!!
Practice makes perfectPractice makes perfect
Practice makes perfect

Yeh! practicing your moves is very important, especially if you are a beginner.
Cool moves bro!Cool moves bro!
Cool moves bro!

He's a professional! No way on earth I can do that.
Breathtaking Breathtaking
Breathtaking

This place have it all. I can't believe this is found in the Philippines
BillboardBillboard
Billboard

Calling all adventure seekers. This is the place for you.
Waiting for the FerryboatWaiting for the Ferryboat
Waiting for the Ferryboat

We arrived at Manila arounf 4:30 in the morning. We have no place to stay, so decided to go directly to the pier. We were so tired and sleepy, the floor was the only bed available.
Yahoo! Corregidor, here we come!Yahoo! Corregidor, here we come!
Yahoo! Corregidor, here we come!

Making a line and buying tickets.


27th October 2008

whew!!im so surprised on your posted blogs..hehehe..where's our next pit?hehee..see yah nong!!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb