Ilocos Norte Revisited


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Illocos Region
September 17th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Travelling up North never tires me, for a lot of reasons. I love to take any way in going there, be it by land or by air. Though, it will take you 12 hours to reach the Northern part of the Ilocos Region if by land, but if you travel by air, it will only take you around 45 minutes. The road going to Ilocos Norte is pretty much OK that makes the 12 hours smooth and let you enjoy the scenery along the way.


I can't count anymore how many times I have visited Ilocos Norte. Each visit was a great experience. But, this time, I decided to spend one weekend there in order for me to visit the other tourist spots I haven't visited yet during my previous travels. Arrived Laoag International Airport around 10am; I got a promo ticket from a budget airline. My first stop was to visit the St. William’s Cathedral in Laoag City, a Renaissance style church which was built by the Augustinians in 1612, made of limestone and corals. Next, just across the road was the Sinking Bell Tower, built in the foundation of sand. It is said by the Historians, that it sink one inch every year. After visiting these two, decided to head off to La Preciosa Resto for my lunch and ordered a bowl of Sinanglaw, rice and Mango Juice for less than 400pesos.



In the afternoon, I travelled going to Pagudpud, but on my way, drop by at Old Church, built by the Augustinian, the façade was originally a Baroque style. St. Andrew's Cathedral and the Bacarra Belfry, a 16th century structures. Next stop was the Bangui Windmills, 20 wind turbines that generate electricity for Ilocos Norte. I was too mesmerized by just the sight of those turbines that I can’t stop myself taking pictures though it was so windy and the waves are becoming big. I can’t go near the sea shore. I waited for the sun down but unfortunately, it did not. I went back to the highway and waited for my bus ride to Saud

Beach Resort. Arrived there almost 6 in the evening. Stayed overnight in one of the resorts there for 1250.00 pesos during off-peak season. A double-bed room with toilet and bath, and a cable connection is all I need for a good night rest. After taking a short walk at the beach, went back to the resort to have my dinner.



Next morning, before heading back to Laoag City, drop by at the Cape Bojeador Lighthouse; it is majestically located 160 meters up the hill in the municipality of Burgos, Ilocos Norte. It is facing the South China Sea and serves as a station point for ships veering towards the Pacific Coast heading towards the Babuyan Channel.



After the Lighthouse, I was convinced by the tricycle driver to visit also the Kapurpuraoan Rock Formation, a must-see near the Burgos town. It’s a 15minute ride from the Lighthouse. The moment I saw it from afar, I was mesmerized by the picturesque formation. It’s sculpted by the wind and the sea. Kapupuraoan means sooo white, and it can be whiter during the summer months of April and May. I traveled back to Laoag City, went to Plaza and had a merienda of their famous Empanada. I took a jeepney ride to Paoay for the Paoay Church; it is a 30 minute ride from the city. It was my second visit to the Unesco Heritage Site. Construction of the church started in year 1694 and was finished in 1894. The Paoay Church is a combination of three Architectural styles, the Gothic, Baroque and the Oriental. The Façade of the Church is a Gothic example and the Gable roof shows some Chinese elements, while the niches topping at the side walls are Javanese influence.

My last stop was the Batac Cathedral in Bata, Ilocos Norte, it was already 630pm that I was not able to take some pictures. There is a mass on-going so I headed back home to Manila by bus. It was another amazing Do-It-Myself experience travelling up North.


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

St, Williams CathedralSt, Williams Cathedral
St, Williams Cathedral

Laoag Cathedral


27th November 2012

Come & visit Ilocos.....

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb