My last entry from the Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Cebu City
January 12th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all. As I said above, this will be my last entry since I'm coming to the end of this whirlwind exploration of SE Asia. The Philippines is a lovely country but will definitely have to come back to do it properly, nine days was just not enough. Okay, the internet cafe I'm in continues to lose connectivity so I'll just post the few pics I've uploaded and get back to update in a bit. Take care everyone. Thank you for being interested in my journey and traveling with me 😊 Love Cheryl


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Jeepneys in ManilaJeepneys in Manila
Jeepneys in Manila

These are converted jeeps left by the Americans and are used like public buses. Some jeepneys were incredibly redone.
ManilaManila
Manila

Inside Intramuros, a walled part of Manila. Not much remains as it was bombed quite badly during WW2
ManilaManila
Manila

The oldest church in the Philippines
ManilaManila
Manila

Inside Intramuros
ManilaManila
Manila

Largest Roman Catholic church in Philippines
ManilaManila
Manila

The moat inside the walls of Intramuros was filled in and is now used as a golf course. You can see the walls still stand.
ManilaManila
Manila

Manila scenery
Parade in CebuParade in Cebu
Parade in Cebu

In Cebu city, I arrived during Sinulog, a festival, and there was something going on every day. This day was a parade of elementary school kids.
Old church in Cebu1Old church in Cebu1
Old church in Cebu1

My guide book says people line up for hours to pray in front of La Nina inside the church. I saw the line and it was a long one.
Old church in Cebu2Old church in Cebu2
Old church in Cebu2

Same church with La Nina.


12th January 2011

Thanks
Hi Cheryl, I can't believe that your trip has come to an end. Thank you for sharing it with us. It will be so nice to see you again and hear about your trip firsthand. I loved getting your updates. Stephanie
12th January 2011

Travels
Enjoyed traveling with you! Have a safe journey home Cheryl.
12th January 2011

CONGRATULATIONS
Hi Cheryl; I am glad that everything well for you on your trip. Your Blog was definitely interesting and informative and we are looking forward to your presentation to the Club. Thanks a lot for your Christmas Card; it was well appreciated. Best of luck on your jouney back. Cheers. Hugh
13th January 2011

Wow! You did it. What a wonderful journey Cheryl. Thanks again for sharing it with all of us. You're a great travel guide... hmmmm... new career? Talk soon I hope.
21st January 2011

Hi Cheryl, Would like to get together with you when you are settled back home? Can I get your email address too? I just had your work one from before. I'm going to Cabo Jan 31 for a week. Still plan on going to Bali....maybe in April. Deb

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb