More sun, sea,sillyness and food April/May 2012


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
March 25th 2013
Published: March 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

NemoNemoNemo

Smiling but a bit worried
Boracay is a little Island and has 2 sides. The West side is paradise , long never ending white beaches and sun galore , the other side is rocks , no sand and very windy . It is so windy in fact , it is one of the best places in the world to go kite surfing due to the high constant winds and high waves but not the place to take a holiday. So guess what side my hotel was ? yes due to lack of re search here I was in the middle of a tornado , I did wonder when I got to the Hotel why they asked where my kite was ! But not to worry the walk to the West side was only 10 mins away and it was kind of refreshing to sit on the East side to cool of in the fresh mega winds and watch them guys kite surf , amazing how fast and how high they jump over the waves !

The hotel was in the middle of a small jungle type place and all sorts of animals and insects everywhere , cheap and good and very friendly people. I had
Middle in a mini jungleMiddle in a mini jungleMiddle in a mini jungle

Nice and cheap though
my own shack which is always great , total privacy and breakfast was served on a table outside amongst the chickens and stray dogs but tasted very nice even if it was eggs and mango everyday ! No aircon just a fan , Im not a fan of aircon in fact I dislike it ever since I was in Sinagapor but sometimes it is nice to switch it on for 10 mins to cool the place down , this place was lke an oven but I was getting used to living like this now , it was just the ants the same size as my feet that annoyed me crawling over me at night times but I guess ants are harmless .

I went for a cheap / cheat dive with out airtanks only to about 5 meters , it is where you put a helmet and an airline goes into it , bit weird feeling but a very good cheap thrill and a bit dodgy due to the guys doing it where smoking pot at the time off the dive ! I am open minded but the thought of them guys being responsible for my air intake on
I wanted to steal his pink hatI wanted to steal his pink hatI wanted to steal his pink hat

My new found mate Arthie . Dodgy guy but what a laugh and boy could he drink !
the boat did make me wonder but at only 5 meters it did nt really matter.I had some fish feed to hold and then all these womderfull tropical fish just enveloped me and where eating out of my hand , that was great .But due to the weight of the helmet I was very restricted and moved in slow motion a bit like a spaceman would but it was weird to walk on the sea bed , nice experience.

I also went for a cliff dive trip , this invloves a 1 hour boat trip to a little Island and basically jump of the cliffs the highest jump being 15 meters . It looked dodgy because the cliffs were not straight but very jagged so you had to jump out and not just fall , that is if you were stupid enough to do the 15 meter jump.. and yes out of the party of 50 or so 5 of did it and I was one of them and i think one of the oldest on the trip . The only other silly buggers were a bunch of Koreans . I was sober but lots of the younger ones
The ferry terminalThe ferry terminalThe ferry terminal

Who cares when the water is constant 25 degrees !
were drinking like crazy and then jumping from the 7 meter jump , 1 jap guy dislocated his shoulder doing this , there was of course no medical assistance and the boat would not take him back so he had to suffer the whole day, poor chap . I jumped fro 15 m and it felt like I had had a car crash , I hurt for days after that but was kind of proud of myself for doing it . I was also a bit concerned about sharks because this was shark spotting area and surely the vibes of all these people jumping inthe water might attract them ? It was a good day though with yummy food being freshly caught snapper fish , chicken and rice and amazing vegatables and fruits served on a fresh picked banana leaf ,, true paradise .. life was good !

But after 4 or 5 days it was time to move on , and I wanted to go to Manila to see Sheila and Arthie the couple I had met in Subic


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Abandon ship !Abandon ship !
Abandon ship !

The lifeboat for 50 plus people !
They mean itThey mean it
They mean it

No one cared about anything , part of the thirll really.
View from 15 meters upView from 15 meters up
View from 15 meters up

Why did I do this ? Even filmed myself jumping, I survived , my camera never!
Cute Cute
Cute

Some Korean girl kindly pointed this little fellow out to me as it was about 2 inches from my head.
MacDonalds ?MacDonalds ?
MacDonalds ?

I will never ever eat a Mac D again after the food I had travelling.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb