BORACAY ADVENTURE Round 2 (with practical tips)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
April 18th 2012
Published: November 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

BORACAY ADVENTURE Round 2 (Practical tips)




April 7-11, 2012............. the return of the comeback of YAJERO in the paradise... BORACAY ISLAND!

Reminder:

it's BORACAY not BORA......

This vacation served as my advance birthday gift for myself.... but during this time, I planned to just spend 4 thousand pesos, ofcourse the plane tickets were already brought. This is a challenge for me because if I will not do this, I might not be able to go back home in Cavite and at the same time so I could share some information for those who want to go to Boracay but have small budget.



I was able to book a flight going to CATICLAN through Cebu Pacific again when they had seat sale last feb 25. The problem during that time was, there's no sale for the flight going back to Manila.

I waited for a month, but still, there's no seat sale until I discovered this 2GO... (RO-RO) that travels from Batangas port to Caticlan and vice versa. I told myself, this is it... I will finally be able to ride a ship. So I booked a trip from Caticlan to Batangas port, it costs 760php.







Note: According to the personnel, the price of ticket varies from time to time. I heard also from her that there's also a PISO FARE, because she told it to her co-worker, but I am not pretty sure if it applies also for public. Visit their site: http://travel.2go.com.ph/



After booking the ticket, I called the office to confirm it and asked the things that I should when I get to Caticlan port.

When I arrived at the Caticlan Airport, I paid an amount of 150php, that's for the cab, environmental fee and boat fee.

At the Caticlan port, before riding a pump boat going to boracay is;and, I thought that I should already purchase the RO-RO ticket in 2GO office so I will not have problem anymore. So I went there, it's just near, you just need to find their PINK AD.

After getting my ticket I headed to the terminal, paid 50php for the terminal fee and finally rode a boat.

Tricycle was the next ride.. going to FRENDZ Resort and I paid 100php for the fare.

I stayed in FRENDZ resort for just 1 day, because that's the cheapest accomodation so far and after that I will be trasfering to a more convenient room.

Frendz Resort is not a beachfront hotel. They have a lobby where you can play billiards, access free Wi-Fi and eat some snacks. They also have a free welcome drinks.




It was EASTER SUNDAY when I went there, so the accommodation in other hotels were still expensive, that's why I stayed in FRENDZ first. I occupied a 4-bed male dormitory, 600php per night. In short, I was there in the room together with 3 other backpackers. It's only a fan room and the room is quite big.

Advantages:
1. Cheap.
2. You'll get to meet other travelers/backpackers especially foreigners.
3. It is located in station 1.
4. The receptionist is very kind, approachable and accommodating.

Disadvantages:
1. My primary concern was my personal belongings, since I am not the only one in the room. FRENDZ has a vault where you can ask them to keep your things, like a baggage counter. Unfortunately, I was not informed and I did not notice that claiming of your things will be only until 7pm. During the first night, I returned around 10PM after eating, strolling and etc. Then the guy and night-shift receptionist told me that the key to the vault is with Rose (the female and day-shift receptionist). I was not able to use my phone a lap top for the whole night because of that.
2. I saw a big rat inside the room. I think it smelled my chocolate brownies. The room is made of bamboo, like a nipa hut.
3. There's a common bathroom for everyone.
4. You need to endorse the key to the receptionist if you have and you will leave the room especially if nobody's there.

Just had two hours of rest, but I cannot sleep, so at around 5pm, I went to the beachfront and had a walk. This was the time also that I started planning things, finding cheap but good things to eat and to do. I was just a little disappointed because the beach was not that so beautiful that time. There were a lot of algae... LUMOT!





Bought my favorite BUKO SHAKE.....


I decided also to have a HENNA tattoo.... for 100php... it's quite in demand there..... it seems that you're not in if you don't have one!


Saw this one in station 1, made by children. You just need to give them coins once you decided to pose there...


The view of the beach the next morning!


It was really a hot day! I bought a hat for 130php and a snorkeling tools (sorry, I forgot what do you call it) in preparation for a swimming session.... Since I want to really follow the plan, I went to the main road and scout the place for some carinderias. Luckily, I found 5. In just 50php, you can have already a FINE MEAL... hehhehehe fine only for me..


I also decided to go to BOLABOG BEACH... and I was surprised to see the kite surfers.. It's fun to watch them. The place is also relaxing because it's windy there compare to the whitebeach.



See this guy preparing and helping a foreigner to set up the kite. I tried also trekking BOLABOG BEACH the next night. As in it was super dark and you can only see few people in the area. There are also some bars there. To get there, you just need to go to the main road, find the arc with the sign BRGY. BOLABOG if Im not mistaken beside the small lake. Just walk straight until you reach the other side. On my second day, I transferred to BONZAI RESORT and will be staying there for the next 3 days. I stayed also there last year. There was a promo that's why I got the room for just 750php., with aircon and cable tv. It is located in station 2, near La Carmela. It is not also a beachfront hotel but it is very near.


One of the beautiful shots that i took is this one... :-0 Since I am fond of walking... I continued walking and trekking station 1 until I reach the end part. I saw some people going there so I imitated them. There you can see station 1, 2, 3 and the beach at my back.


After getting some information to some people, I finally decided to go to PUKA BEACH on the third day. I went there around 4pm. The place is okay, the sand is off-white, few people are in the area but what I like most are the waves!




Sunset in PUKA BEACH.





Going back to WHITE BEACH, rode a tricycle even though I was very wet.

Last day in BORACAY!



Featuring......... the RORO! That was my first time to ride a big ship, but as they say, the roro is still small compared to other ships like super ferry.
Note: You must be very patient... it will really take time and there's a lot of people.



Finally boarded at 730pm. Just look at the picture for you to imagine the set up inside. There's also a BAR on the upper part of the ship.


Looking at BORACAY ISLAND while in the ship.


EXPENSES:

Fare: going to MIA ROAD 42
Taxi 50
Terminal fee 200
Cab, envi fee, boat fee 150
Terminal fee 50
Tricycle( going to hotel) 100
Frendz resort accomodation (1 day) 600
Bonzai resort (3 days) 2250
Mang inasal dinner 100
Buko shake 65
Food (2nd day) 250
Hat 130
Goggles 270
Food (3rd day) 250
Fare (to PUKA beach) 80
Food (4th day) 250
Tricycle (to Cagban port, not special) 30
Terminal and boat fee (to caticlan) 75
Fare (Roro) 760
Van and jeep (back home) 180
_____________
5882

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb