Almost there


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bohol » Tagbilaran
April 30th 2014
Published: April 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Here I am with another blog. It feels like worlds apart between each one. The perspective I have now is vastly different to the one before, which in turn was different to the one before that, and so on. And you know what? That’s what I wanted from this trip. So I’m happy. I saw a very apt quote on the Carl Jung Psychology facebook page, and it went something like this:

“What if we don’t have to become anything? What if all we had to do was unbecome, layer by layer, all the things we weren’t?”

And that sums up what my trip has been all about. In Sydney I had become too much of what I was not. I had layers of fake growing all around me. I know who I am, but the hard work was always to unbecome that which I am not. I am not insurance. I am not the ivy. I am not a settler. Peel back these layers, as one is forced to when on a *temporary life* overseas, and the core of me inevitably comes to the fore: Music. Philosophy. Writing. Literature.

I’m happy with my progress. I wish I had another 6 months, but it’s not to be. Funds dictate a return home.

In the spirit of travel blogs, I will say I went to Bohol last week. I will also say that it is the single most soul-enriching place I've been to in my life. I love everything about it. I love that it has the small towns and seaside villages, but also a McDonalds. I love that it has stunning white-hot beaches, but also a cool climate jungle. I love that it's so easy to get around on a motorbike. I love that it has it's tourist side, but also it's regular hidden side. For all the people who have ever called me negative - you just don't know me well enough. When I love something, I love it with a fierce passion and that is how I feel about my time at Bohol.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb