The Karmic Price for Arrogance? Parasites.


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Baguio
August 16th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, because the people who know me are too polite to say it, I am just going to have to tell you myself, I don't listen well to instructions.

I was given extensive training by the United Church before I came to the Philippines. I spent two weeks in a convent outside of Toronto with a big group of people, all preparing to go overseas for their church, learning how to handle myself properly in a host country. We were even given extensive medical information in order to stay healthy while outside Canada. This is where my problem lies. Apparently I seem to think I am smarter then travel medicine experts. Do I have a medical degree? No. Do I even have a science degree? No. Do I know anything about the human body beyond dietary facts? Not really.... And yet somehow I continue to defy the explicit instructions of the travel doctor.

The number one medical threat to long term overseas mission personal is sunburn. For those of you who have not checked out my photos, I am a ghostly white, red head. Even after 8 months in a freckle conducive climate (5 more months then my bodies to) I am still the whitest person anyone I know knows. I, in fact, could be a sunscreen spokesperson, since the smell of coconut has become my preferred scent. And yet, I am still not diligent about application. I cringe at the idea of being greasy. I assume my exposure will be short. And I consistently burn the backs of the calves and my hairline. Nothing sexier then reddish/pink calves.

This arrogance extends to most things the doctor told us in Toronto. "Never, EVER walk around in sand in your bare feet." Silly doctor, what could hurt us in harmless sand? Sand that is warm and smooth against our toes as we walk along the edge of the warm southern seas. That's what I thought, the day before I woke up with legs and arms covered in sand flea bites. Because, I have to admit, after daring to walk bare foot in the sand, I decided to dare to lay sunbathing in the sand all morning. That was obviously the wrong decision. And now, I have given myself parasites.

Yup, I have some new friends hanging out in my intestines. They are awesome, except, of course, for all of the horrors they are performing on my body. And where did I get these parasites? From not washing my hands before eating, or from not washing my fruit, or from street food. There are many doctors orders I have been defying that could have given me parasites. Just because I don't want to eat with fingers that taste like hand sanitizer. Or because I think apples should always be consumed under a polish-on-jeans and eat policy. I didn't even eat any of the weirdest street food... no deep fried one day old chicks, no grilled chicken intestines, no coagulated chicken blood. But I guess I should have known better then to buy BBQ pork on a stick from a vendor under an overpass. Although, in my defense, that was the best BBQ pork I have ever eaten in my life.

Well, I hope that I have learned my lesson. The sunburns fade and the sand flea bites are bareable, but parasites stay with you for ten days, TEN WHOLE DAYS. And I suppose the travel doctors do know what they are talking about... they are the experts after all. Although, just between you and me, I can't promise I won't sneak fish balls from a vendor in the market... maturity doesn't develop over night, after all.

Advertisement



17th August 2008

Try Filipino delicacy balut
Yes, that nice little duck fetus swimming in its cooked egg placenta is quite yummy, and nutritious too!
27th August 2008

always wear sunscreen
well, i love fishballs right from the cart too, but i don't eat those habitually. i can always buy a pack from the grocery and fry them myself and make my own sauce. balut is no doubt good for you and actually tastes pretty great if you don't mind the fact that it's duck fetus, and its preparation is sanitary actually. Hope the price of learning isn't too painful. Get well soon.
1st September 2008

Things to avoid
You can't even get worm pills in the USA. Stock up on them while in Asia. Take them on empty stomach with lots of water, once then again 5 hours later. Some still might not be killed. They like to hang out in the transverse colon and they don't show up in xrays.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb