The (re)Wedding


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Albay » Guinobatan
January 12th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The boysThe boysThe boys

OK - I said this blog was not going to be about people - but this IS the wedding. No's 2,3,4 from left and extreme right are the boys i spent my buck's night with. 5 from left is the other groom. Two more missing, the photographer and my best man - not there yet
Tuesday morning came along and I was lucky if i'd slept any more than an hour or so. Between the aches and pains from the fever and the wooden mattress, that was basically a foregone conclusion. By this time the fever has set in fully and I'm feeling like MERDE.

I figured I'd shower and get ready a little early, only to be told that I had to wait for the photographer. He laid out all my clobber on the 'bed' and took a bunch of shots of my empty clothes (perhaps for a sale catalogue???). I've been assured this customary in these parts.

I then 'showered' ( a couple of buckets and a face washer) and started to get dressed only to be told that the dressing part was to be photographed (and videoed) as well - fortunately they let me put my strides and T shirt on first.

Have I mentioned how hot the Barong Tagalog is????? By the time the photo-shoot was over I was sooo wet i had to change my T shirt.

So it's 9:40 and time to head off to the church. By this time most of the male bridal party
Principal Flower GirlPrincipal Flower GirlPrincipal Flower Girl

Yna - my God-daughter - have i said how cute i think she is?????
has arrived at Dexter's house and so we all pile into three trikes and away we go. Our trikes had myself, Dexter and two slight young blokes in/on it and it struggled so much with the gradient of the street we were in (not much more than an average Aussie driveway) I thought for a moment we wouldn't make it. We did though.

Now a Filipino bridal entourage is a little bigger than an Aussie one. you have the bride and groom, the best man and maid of honour, several groomsmen and bridesmaids, major sponsors and minor sponsors, flowers girls (the boys get called that too), ring bearers, candle ceremony attendant, veil ceremony attendants and cord ceremony attendants. Consequently, I suspect the bridal entourage was larger than the balance of the congregation.

The ceremony went without any hitch other than the priests reminded me of a movie (can't remember the title) with Rowan Atkinson playing the part of a priest/pastor doing a wedding. He also insisted on trying pronouce my name as Mieczyslaw instead of John.

So we're (re)Married now and it's time for the photos and they're all taken on the altar - including the candid
Indulge meIndulge meIndulge me

Yna and Janina - Janina is one of my grand nieces I think when God created these two - he stopped making babies for a while cos he ran out of cuteness
shots. Quite bizarre (to me at least).

The photos are taken (we've been at the church for two hours now) and it's off to the reception



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

A bevy of beautiesA bevy of beauties
A bevy of beauties

Filipina women really are quite beautiful
The BrideThe Bride
The Bride

Not the best quality shot - but the only unofficial one i have of Squish 'Walking the Aisle' - I figure she'd want one posted
The Obligatory Silly ShotThe Obligatory Silly Shot
The Obligatory Silly Shot

As you can see - right on the Altar


12th January 2011

Congratulations....
Great reading John, love following your journey on the blog. Love to Cynthia too Lou & Zaj xo
13th January 2011

Very nice John. Congratulations.
Just FYI, the movie with Rowan Atkinson is Four Weddings and a Funeral.
14th January 2011

Thanks
Now why couldn't I remember that - I loved that movie - must be getting old

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb