ENTRY SIX — Lahore Cathedral


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Punjab
November 15th 1986
Published: December 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Lahore, Pakistan - July  1986  (Miranda & I before my induction as 'Chaplain to the English Congregation')Lahore, Pakistan - July  1986  (Miranda & I before my induction as 'Chaplain to the English Congregation')Lahore, Pakistan - July 1986 (Miranda & I before my induction as 'Chaplain to the English Congregation')

Lahore, Pakistan - A view of the Cathedral compound from the front gate (the Cathedral is in the background).
ENTRY SIX November 15th 1986
Lahore Cathedral (Cathedral Church of the Resurrection or Kukar Girja )






As I struggle to put our experiences on paper (now a travel blog) in a coherent fashion, I can see now what I totally failed to comprehend then. There was a pattern emerging from the events of recent weeks. A mystery was unfolding.

Our plane to Lahore was seven hours late and there was no one to meet us at the airport. We looked a sight! Not wanting me to meet the Bishop in my unkempt state, Miranda booked us into a hotel. I phoned Bishopsbourne and made arrangements for the following morning.

As the next day dawned — the humidity lower and sun shining — I set out for my appointment with the Bishop. It felt good to march along the Mall Road, marveling at its great width. The British Raj had set out the street to be wide enough to turn their elaborate horse-drawn conveyances.

As I approached the High Court, the majority of the buildings were Victorian: antiquated structures that had been converted into shops and restaurants. Several times I stopped to admire
The InductionThe InductionThe Induction

Bryan is inducted by the Bishop of Lahore, The Rt. Rev. Alexander Malik.
the intricate detail on some of the gables and eaves. People were everywhere, scurrying about their business.

Cathedral Close was a sanctuary from the dust and hubbub of the city. Birdsong and sweet smells from the flowering bushes enveloped me. The long, winding driveway continued past the Bishop's residence. Beyond tall hedges, the towering Cathedral loomed, red-bricked and magnificent against the green foliage and pale-blue sky. The architecture was definitely 19th-century England. As I drew closer, a strange sensation overcame me and I became rooted to the spot, staring.



It took a moment to comprehend the appalling fact: I had been standing, gazing ahead, zombie-like, for forty-five minutes and was now late for my appointment! To my surprise, the Bishop seemed unconcerned by my lack of punctuality. He asked me to sit in his large, front room, positioning himself in a leather armchair. We spoke comfortably for half an hour as he outlined my duties as curate at the Cathedral.

When we finished, I met with the Bishop's English secretary Marleena. She was a journalist by profession and a social activist at heart. I felt like I knew her as she had been corresponding on the
St. HildaSt. HildaSt. Hilda

Miranda and Bryan pose in the huge upper hallway at St. Hilda's, where guests and some residents stayed (inside the Cathedral compound). There was an excellent display of old photos depicting the Cathedral's history.
Bishop's behalf. She explained that Miranda and I would be staying in the Vicarage (a very large building), sharing accommodation with the present curate from England. It was suggested that we attend the 8:00 a.m. Morning Prayer service the next day, then make our introductions.

...as he opened the door to the Vicarage, the young curate enquired, "Who, might I ask, are you?"

"I am the Rev. G. Bryan Porter, from Canada."

"And what are you doing here?" he inquired.

"I hope to serve the Lord."

"And how do you propose to do that?"

"With your help—we were told that you would welcome us and get us settled in."

"I'm Miranda, his wife, the other half of 'us'," I heard a voice say over my shoulder.

"Come back in two hours' time and I will see what can be done." He firmly closed the door.



When we did return Thomas invited us into the sitting room and asked if we'd like something cool to drink. While preparing the beverages, he chattered non-stop, obviously trying to make us comfortable. He showed us what would be our bedroom, explaining that we
The Vicarage, Lahore, PakistanThe Vicarage, Lahore, PakistanThe Vicarage, Lahore, Pakistan

Some of the staff outside our home.
must be careful of falling plaster during the monsoon season. He also noted other problems he'd encountered while living in the Vicarage. The Bishop, he explained, had left him completely in the dark about our early arrival. Tom had been perplexed, because he was not scheduled to leave until Christmas. Having his replacement appear five months early, had been disconcerting, to say the least!

We assured the young deacon that we were not in Lahore to unseat him, but merely to help him. With everything ironed out, we all began to relax. By midday, he was offering to be our guide to the city.






The Old City Bazaar




Soon after my arrival, I'd been asked to hold services for a community located on the Indian-Pakistani border, because the armies of the said nations had been mobilized and the village was at risk. While I was off in no man's land, Miranda had been praying for my safety. However she decided that she must do something to take her mind off my trip, so she set off to find some earrings (although Marleena, the Bishop's English secretary had specifically warned her not to go shopping on her own).

Thousands of tiny shops and stalls filled the Old City bazaar. The crowdedness, cacophony and confusion hit her as she stepped into the main, covered market area and began her search for jewelry. Her heart raced with excitement. It was fun shopping in such exotic surroundings, she reflected.

As Miranda continued to wind her way through the complicated maze of lanes and passageways, her confidence increased and she felt quite proud of herself. She soon found an inexpensive pair of earrings: little burgundy flowers outlined in gold leaf.

The shop was not really a shop, but rather a few feet of wall where a simple collection was displayed. After being handed the ten rupees, the shopkeeper dropped the earrings into her open hand.

As Miranda placed the loose earrings into her purse, it struck her that a brooch or bracelet might really add to her outfit — especially if she could find one in the same colors. And besides, she told herself, the earrings had been so inexpensive she could afford something else.



Many of the dealers had earrings similar to the ones she'd purchased, so finding another matching
The Badshahi Mosque - Lahore, PakistanThe Badshahi Mosque - Lahore, PakistanThe Badshahi Mosque - Lahore, Pakistan

Miranda in front of the Mosque
piece should be accomplished quite easily.

At one jewelry boutique she studied several items in a glass-topped case on top of a counter, holding her new earrings in her hand. Seeing nothing that really fit color-wise, she started to return the earrings to her purse.

Suddenly, the man behind the counter reached out and grabbed her wrist. At the same time he screamed loudly that this vile woman was attempting to steal earrings from his shop. Horrified and shocked at being falsely accused, Miranda began to defend herself. "I bought these at another shop and was just trying to match the color," she cried out, explaining that she was very honest — the wife of a Christian clergyman — and would never steal anything, especially a pair of cheap earrings.

The man was adamant that they had been stolen from his shop and threatened to call the police. A crowd of curious onlookers began to form. Real fear crept into her, joining the outrage already there.

"I'll take you back to the place where I bought these earrings," she pleaded in desperation. "Then you'll know I'm telling the truth."

The shopkeeper reluctantly agreed, and, signaling for someone to watch his store, he followed Miranda.

Walking along, pursued by a large mob, it began to dawn on her how hopeless the situation really was. Would she be able to find that tiny piece of wall in this mind-numbing maze? Not in a million years! Fear began to turn to despair, and thoughts of anti-American sentiment and losing a hand for theft crowded her mind.

"I must stay calm," she reminded herself. The entourage moved along, Miranda desperately glancing from side to side. When it seemed she could no longer hold back the tears, something curious occurred. A kindly, white-haired man appeared and asked what was happening. He listened carefully as Miranda explained her side of the story and the shopkeeper explained his.

After weighing what he had heard and asking a few more questions, the elderly gentleman calmed down the offended store owner and convinced him that Miranda was telling the truth. The laugh-lines around her rescuer's warm, brown eyes crinkled as he smiled at her, the sensation produced by his gaze seeming very familiar. A great tide of relief flowed through Miranda, as she realized she was free to go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Lahore, Pakistan - Decorated busLahore, Pakistan - Decorated bus
Lahore, Pakistan - Decorated bus

A typical bus in Lahore.
Beadon Road Ice Cream, LahoreBeadon Road Ice Cream, Lahore
Beadon Road Ice Cream, Lahore

Bryan braves the crowd in the store where we bought our favourite pistachio ice cream.
Lahore, PakistanLahore, Pakistan
Lahore, Pakistan

A serious game of Boggle between friends.
Smelling the flowersSmelling the flowers
Smelling the flowers

Miranda indulges her senses in the lush foliage around the Cathedral compound.
Bryan and friendsBryan and friends
Bryan and friends

Bryan and two of the many young people of the Congregation.
Picture, picture!Picture, picture!
Picture, picture!

The children of the Cathedral staff love to have their photograph taken.
Bryan in prayerBryan in prayer
Bryan in prayer

Bryan leans against a tree in his favorite place for serenity and prayer, Lahore.
Border ministryBorder ministry
Border ministry

Bryan visits Anglicans in the villages along the border of Pakistan and India. He went with Padre Robert Otto on the back of his motorcycle.
Youth FellowshipYouth Fellowship
Youth Fellowship

Bryan with youth fellowship members Jafar (in the short sleeved shirt) and Roy (in the motorcycle jacket).
Lahore Cathedral PakistanLahore Cathedral Pakistan
Lahore Cathedral Pakistan

*Distortion: Travelblog photos are best viewed with Internet Explorer.


12th July 2008

Why?
Why Lahore?
26th September 2009

A call for help
A call for help "Qaiser Ayub" My name is Qaiser Ayub from Pakistan born on 25th November 1974 with post graduate degree in computer sciences, I started new Christian organization Named United Christian Organization i.e. www.ucopak.org. This organization was founded with only one thing in mind that we will provide some practical solution for the Christian of Pakistan as described in Mr. Nasir S. Bhatti in his book Trials of Pakistani Christian Nation. I belong to Lahore one of the big cities of Pakistan. I completed my first ten years in Christian school i.e. Cathedral School # 2 at 4 Church Road, Lahore, Pakistan. I had lot of Muslims friends. I always felt that we are not belong to Pakistan as it is only for Muslims because they made it and call it the Fort of Islam. No doubt for the long time I was engaged in for developing my self and to support my family. I always want to help my Christian brothers and sister . No doubt we have lot of organization in Pakistan who are trying there best to raise Christian up but I believe that we need a revolution like in India they made Kerala a most educated state in India. So we need to educate them, provide some jobs opportunities in Pakistan. Most of our Christians are uneducated and choices for them are sanitary work and to be involved in illegal liquor sale. As they know even after getting education they won’t get a good job most of them stay away from school and those who want had only choices to Muslims school. They are always humiliated for being Christian. There are Christian schools but they are expensive and even less to fulfill the need. I started the organization in Feb 2009 to start this job and to bring a new revolution of education among Christians but right now, my self got trapped in Muslims blasphemy laws. I am not stupid to write all these things against Islam as I know what they will do with the person who will do such things and why would I use my original name and contact. I always respect islam and while I was studying I had studied Islamiat from my 9 standard till graduation. I Got lot of threats for being murdered from Muslims over my mobile phone. I and my brother manage to escape from Pakistan but still I am getting threats over my emails. I & my family consists of three brother, my wife and my son are in great danger. I have emailed hundred and thousands of persons out there but very less response. Most of them assuming that it is spam email, I have to return next month back to Pakistan but the condition is very bad they will capture me on the airport as my name is in the news papers. I am astonished to know that they are using my organization name and distributing anti-Islam material with my name. It is the same story they always do with non-Muslim. I request you to show this story in BBC so that people can know real truth about me. Things are getting worse and I believe that call for help to my Christian brothers and sister out there would result me getting out of this situation and I can continue my mission to help my fellow Christian brothers and sisters.
9th December 2009

cathedral school
very good school iam studying in this school
21st January 2010

may i print these pictures with history
Byran and mirnada you have done a great work in lahore with talented hands Greetings in the Name of Lord Jesus Christ Montly Rabbaan Always at your service Sir, I am Rev shiraz who is working with Farooqabad Presbyterian church and also Have a vision to enlightened the mind Nad soul of Paksitani Christian community theologicaly, politicaly, and socialy as well.I request you in this regard to sent your articles, news of your institutions for Rabbaan.On the behahf of my Team I am very thankful to you in this regard,You are rebuilding your community with awarness and information. In Christ Rev Shiraz shahzad Chief Editor Montly Rabbaan Lahore Pastor Incharge Farooqabad Presbyterian Church Presbyterian church Of Pakistan. 0343-4233685 www.Rabbaan.com
5th February 2010

Request Granted
Shiraz, you and only you may print these pictures with history. The Rev. G Bryan Porter
16th November 2010

from LAHORE PAKISTAN
My son Solomon, who is now 30, and who is picture here with me, has found it from somewhere and forwarded this link to me. I am extremely delighted to see all this. I am so excited that before reading all this I have decided first to put my comment here. My email is daviddiwanmasih@gmail.com. Give me yours. Riffat, my wife, joins me in sending you our hugs and love in the name of Jesus. My cell number is +92-301 4168416. Send me your contact information. If you are in Canada I am likely to visit in the first quarter of 2011. David
8th December 2010

To David Diwan
It was great to hear from you. We are great and residing in Cuba. Then in the summer we plan to return to Canada. Wishing you a Merry Christmas- B&M - PS are you on Facebook?
8th December 2010

Lahore Cathedral.
Revd. Riaz Arif Curate Lahore Cathedral.
14th December 2012

Time Flies
Dear Sir Bryan, i am sure u dont remember me..:) But I do.... O levels 1986, Cathedral School #2, 4 church Road, Lahore. u prepared us for English Language ... :) Can Never forget u and Miranda and Rachel..lovely people...I do have a pic with u somewhere... will send u next time. regards , Dr Ghulam Abbas
2nd January 2013

Looking for information on Younghusband Hostel
Hello Bryan, I was searching for information on Younghusband Hostel, where my father was Warden in 1948, when I came upon your site. I understand that the hostel is now the Cathedral School and I was hoping to find a picture of it. My father was the rector of St Oswald's, Moghulpura, and at St Andrews. My memories of St Andrew's rectory was of a huge building that looked somewhat like a mosque. We used to watch the burning of various parts of the city during the civil war. I wonder if you might have some photographs of these places? As I am trying to put together some memories for my grandchildren I would be grateful if you could send me some via email? If the church has records of the years of my father's ministry I would be glad to have them. I know that it was somewhere between 1943 and 1948, I think. He was teaching at Bishop Cotton's School in Simla, before his ordination at St Oswalds. At one stage he was in charge of something like 9 parishes when the civil war was on. We left for Australia at the end of 1948. Thank you, David Cornelius
7th January 2013

Photo
Hi David I will see what I can do.
27th June 2014

hi
HI MY CHURCH
11th May 2018

busSquare.com
BusSquare.com is Pakistan's largest online bus ticketing platform, trusted by over 1 lac Pakistanis. You can purchase/book tickets via web, mobile, and our bus agents. You can now choose your bus and your seat, have the tickets delivered to your house and pay the cash on delivery. Try the BusSquare experience today. http://bussquare.com/

Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb