Project Snow Leopard in Skardu, Baltistan


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Northern Areas » Skardu
September 7th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Phew... after a ridiculously long time with no proper internet connection I can finally sit down and write here 😊

It was all a pretty quick turnaround from Islamabad and the wedding to this: straight from the ac luxury of chaffeur-driven vans, delicious home-cooked food and being glamourous to backpacker mode within just a handful of hours. Shahrukh (Saher's brother) was super kind and managed to wield his powers as an influential member of Pak Army to get me a seat on the next available flight to Skardu. The wedding reception finished after midnight and at 5am I was at the airport waiting to board my 'once in a lifetime experience flight' to Skardu, Baltistan. I'd pre-arranged to do some voluntary work for Project Snow Leopard so I was pretty flaming excited! By sheer coincidence Rabaab (Raza's auntie) and her parents were also flying to Skardu and so off we flew together, dodging mountains and drooling over the epic scenery.

I fear the computer may die at any second so actually that's all for now (be back soon... insha'Allah!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb