Day #5 - Passing through Lukla


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Lukla
November 20th 2012
Published: November 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Heading around the outskirts of the runway we entered the main street in Lukla. The street was a narrow crowded place with all manner of shops, stalls, teahouse and a couple of bars, not to mention some cows lounging around.



I spy the highest Irish bar in the world, and my thoughts immediately turn to my beloved wife with whom we always seek out an Irish bar in whichever foreign city we travel to. On this journey it looks like I will have take one for the team on my return to Lukla in a 13 days time.



I pass a hard rock café, which I suspect isn’t a real one, several more cows, lots of tourists and eventually we head to the outskirts of town. I am amazed to be greeted with a sign that reads “Everest Trail Race 2012”. You can’t be serious. Do people actual go running around the place up here. Actually yes given the number of incredibly fit people who ran past us back to Lukla during our days trek to Phakding.



Arriving at the exit gate to Lukla we pass through and into the mountains and on our way to Phakding.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb