Day #5 - Tea and mountains at Lukla


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Lukla
November 20th 2012
Published: November 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Piling out of the plane we headed for the nearest hotel for a spot of tea. My legs were still shaking, and from what I could see, the same for the rest of my trekking party.



We met our two guides that would be with us on the trek, alongside out guide leader. We were also introduced to the porters who were busy strapping the large and heavy blue holdalls together to be transported to Phakding – our first days destination. In the days to come when I my 5kg day sack felt too heavy to bear, I reminded myself of the sherpas who were carrying 30kg + of our gear up the mountain ahead of us.



Taking tea and finally starting to relax, I was able to soak up the skyline before me. Two snow capped peaks were visible and the pulse quickened to think we would be seeing many more and up close.



After a pleasant hour recovering from the flight, we were ready to begin our trek to Everest Base Camp and Kala Patar. Donning my backpack, hat, sunglasses and fixing my camera securely in place to my rucksack waistband, I was ready to begin trekking.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb