Back in Nepal!!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
July 10th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have truly grown to love the smell of Nag Champa incense because it reminds me of two things…Nepal and my Uncle Vince. It’s amazing to me that a smell can remind me of such wonderful things and can make me feel so happy! I smelled that familiar scent as soon as we entered the airport in Kathmandu and it instantly brought a smile to my tired, jet-lagged face. I remember the sensory overload that I experienced the first time I came to Nepal in 2001 and as much as I thought I was prepared for it this time around, it is still a bit overwhelming (in a good way). Dodging high-speed motorcycles and taxis, the overpowering smells, people often asking you to buy their goods, haggling with taxi drivers, taking in the whole scene...it's all part of adjusting to life in the great city of Kathmandu.

The whole Knowledge for People 2011 team has arrived safely from Seattle, Portland, North Carolina, California, and Tucson and it has been so great to finally meet some of them face-to-face! Everyone has been such troopers and have muscled through the exhaustion from the crazy long flights and time changes. We had our first day of conducting the trainings at Autism Care Nepal today (the day after arriving!) and I'm still processing it all, but I have to say that it went even better than expected 😊 I'll put together a blog entry with the details in the next day or two. But, for now, here are a few photos (scroll all the way down).

I hope everyone is doing great back home!

Love,
Nikki


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



10th July 2011

Exciting!
How fantastic that you're back in Nepal, Nikki! I hope it's a wonderful trip, and I look forward to reading more about it!
10th July 2011

Great to hear everyone arrived safely. Getting right down to business as usual I see. Will look forward to your next blog. Take care, Love, Terri
11th July 2011

How exciting
Nikki, I am so glad all of you arrived safe. I'll be so excited to hear about all the adventures. Be careful of velcro.....miss you.
11th July 2011

How exciting
Nikki, I am so glad all of you arrived safe. I'll be so excited to hear about all the adventures. Be careful of velcro.....miss you.
11th July 2011

Hi
Happy you made it safely Nikki! Looking forward to following your trip through your updates!! Love, Kelly

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb