A Tiring Start: Mike's Journey to Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
June 22nd 2013
Published: June 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

A long trip to Nepal

I started bright and early on Friday morning with an 8am departure from Pearson. A special shoutout here is warranted to thank Rick for giving me and my pack a ride to the airport! The first flight was relatively short, only a five hour hop to Vancouver. After a two hour layover, and stocking up on Tim Horton's bagels for the trip, I got on a plane to China. The trip to Guangzhou was an exhausting 13 hours. China Southern Airlines were fairly gracious hosts, although they really cranked the heat. I'm guessing it was about 26 on the plane the whole time. Finally, after another two hour layover, I got on the last plane ride, 5 hours this time, to Nepal. At last I made it! Of course, it was time to go to bed, but it was noon Toronto time when I landed. Oh well, let the jet lag begin.

Getting on the flight to Nepal!Getting on the flight to Nepal!Getting on the flight to Nepal!

Snapped this in Guangzhou while waiting to get on the plane
Today I made the trip to Nepal. Actually, I started the trip yesterday and finally made it to Nepal today. Overall it was a rather uneventful trip, which is a good thing. But it sure was long. It was about 30 hours of travel time overall, with two stops: Vancouver and Guangzhou, China. Each stop was only a couple hours though, so the connections were pretty efficient. The airline that I flew was China Southern Airlines, and I was worried that the airline would be super sketch, but it really wasn't bad. They fed us a lot and the food was decent. I had a middle seat but the fellow next to me at the window asked to switch because his TV didn't work. I took him up on the offer because I brought shows on the ipad anyways. There wasn't too much to see out the window; it was cloudy over Japan, but once we got over China I could see all the winding
Plane pictures are boringPlane pictures are boringPlane pictures are boring

And that pretty much sums up the trip. Boring. But boring is good on a plane... that means no crashes!
rivers and the lush greenery. Guangzhou looks like a pretty neat city from the air. Lots of huge towers and massive infrastructure. When I got to Nepal it was dark, so I couldn't see anything out the window. Elysia picked me up at the airport so it was a really easy transition. Looking forward to seeing Nepal and the mountains tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

A380 in GuangzhouA380 in Guangzhou
A380 in Guangzhou

My first glimpse of this big bird. Very big indeed.


Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb