Dorje Squared


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
June 14th 2013
Published: June 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Kathmandu is a place of bizarre coincidence. From the moment I arrived I keep thinking 'what are the chances...?!'. The chances, it would seem, are quite high. In Kathmandu, at least!

So, the first night I arrived I popped out to change some money and buy some cigarettes. It was pretty late but as I passed Tom & Jerry's, my favourite bar, I thought I would pop in quickly for a drink. Incredibly, the staff remembered me, due in part to my wedding photograph that remains on the wall by the pool tables. I met a few locals and one drink turned into several.

On my third day here I was made aware of a google group called KTMKTM, a place where local people post about things going on in Kathmandu. This is where I found out about the animal sanctuary in Chobar (which is well worth a visit, by the way, if you are in the area). I also read an appeal from a Nepali man named Dorje Gurung. Dorje is a teacher, who was imprisoned in Qatar for allegedly insulting Islam. After much support from friends around the globe Dorje was released, and returned to Nepal where he is now setting up an education fund to give opportunities to underprivileged Nepali children. He sounded like somebody I would love to meet so I replied to his message and waited. And waited... Eventually I gave up hope of receiving a reply.

On Wednesday evening I popped into Tom & Jerry's once again to say hello. After a couple of drinks I was about to leave when one of the guys I met on my first night came in. He introduced me to his friend, Dorje. Out of sheer hope I asked 'Dorje Gurung?'. 'He is Dorje Gurung,' this new man said, pointing at my friend. 'He is Dorje Gurung,' said my friend, pointing at this new man. Oddly enough, they are both called Dorje Gurung. 'But did one of you work in Qatar?' I asked. This new man confirmed to me that he was 'the' Dorje Gurung that I had been looking for! If I had not popped into Tom & Jerry's on my first night, and if I had left moments earlier I would not have had the most wonderful of conversations with the infamous Dorje Gurung. It turns out, Dorje has received no replies to his plea for support, which he thought was odd. Obviously something has gone wrong somewhere along the line. Regardless, we swapped contact details and we are meeting up next week to discuss his work.

Another organisation I have been trying to contact for a few months now is PA Nepal; an organisation that works with the children of prisoners. Again, I have received no response to my e-mails. Yesterday I bumped into the second guy I met on my first night and I went for tea with him and his friend. After chatting for some time about NGOs, his friend revealed that he has done some work for an organisation that helps the children of prisoners- the same organisation I have been trying to get in touch with. He offered to take me to meet the woman who runs it. It's a small world in Kathmandu!

So I have decided, on this trip I shall make no plans. I shall not fret over where I am going or who I shall meet. I shall not seek out people or opportunities because they will surely find me.

read my blog about Dorje and his experiences here

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb