Day #2 - Swanky Swanker Hotel


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
November 17th 2012
Published: November 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived at the Hotel Swanker safe and sound. It looked more impressive at a distance than it did close up. As a former palace it was clearly a very majestic building, but now as a Hotel it has seen better days. But this is Kathmandu, so probably one of the finest hotels in the city. The taxi stops at the front door, after which follows a ballet of staff hauling my luggage out of the taxi, I get saluted by another at the front door, a third person opens the door and the fourth person ushers me to the reception desk. I begin to wonder if all jobs in Nepal are shared by 4 people!

At reception I am greeted with a cheery “Namestay” and a dubious looking red drink appears carried on a tray by yet another member of staff. I take of gulp of the red liquid imagining that I will soon be on my way to hospital with some kind of illness before my trek has even started. It turns out to be Apple Juice – and mighty nice it was too. For some reason I have been upgraded to a better room, for no extra charge – a penthouse room, and all for $120. Do they treat all their guests like Royalty?

The little man carries my enormous rucksack upto my room. I feel ever so slightly guilty, especially as I am here on a trek. He shows me round the room then pauses by the front door. Ah tipping time. I had him a tatty 100 rupee note as that was all I had to hand. He grunts then leaves – and like Goldilocks I wonder if 100 rupees was too little, too much or just right.

The Penthouse room is enormous, but filled with what looks like 1960s furniture. If feels like mid-afternoon but my watch now set to Nepalese time, suggest it is around 10pm. Time to check out the bar then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb