EVEREST FLIGHT - Probably the closest I will get to the top of the world....


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Himalayas
October 28th 2013
Published: October 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today we woke up early and headed to the airport to catch our flight to see Everest. We had heard mixed reviews about the trip, some people said that it was too expensive seen as you only saw Everest in the far off distance, and others said it was a once in a lifetime experience that you had to do. To be honest I landed on the side of it being a once in a lifetime experience that I was glad we did.... but then I would say that, because after seeing all those mountains you have to walk over to get to Everest, I think I am pretty sure that I won't be climbing up it anytime soon lol.



It was a lovely clear morning today so we got to see the mountain range in all it's glory, we were so lucky! The air hostess was really helpful, telling us all about the mountains we were seeing, and we each got to go up to the pilots cabin and take photos from there.... My turn was timed perfectly as I was in the cabin when we were closest to Everest. All in all, I really enjoyed the trip and would definitely recommend it, especially if you book it through Royal Mountain Travel, because they only charge you if the trip was successful, and the flight wasn't cancelled due to bad weather.



After the Everest flight we went to Bhaktapur to look around the old city and it's temples. This was the only place we hadn't managed to see when we were in Kathmandu prior to the trek, because of my foot. I was glad we took the time to go and see the old city today, it's really quaint and it was quite a relaxed day just strolling around taking in all the locals going about their daily routines. After a few hours we decided to head back, but instead of taking a taxi we decided to take the local bus. The taxi only took half an hour whereas the bus took two hours, but the taxi cost ten times as much, and we felt we needed the experience...the buses in South America are suppose to be chaotic and when we travel through Chile and Peru we are planning on only travelling by bus lol. The bus was actually quite fun, we weren't in any hurry and it was nice experiencing what the locals experience when they want to travel.



Our time in Nepal is nearly at an end, and while I have had the most amazing time here I don't have the blues quite like I did when we left India. I wonder if that is because we haven't been with the same bunch of people for two weeks so there aren't as many goodbyes all at once this time, or maybe it's because I fell in love with India, and Nepal hasn't quite gotten under my skin in the same way. Either way I am really looking forward to Vietnam. We have a pretty long journey before we reach Hanoi, as we have to fly to Kuala Lumpur first, where we have a lay over of 10 hours...And I've lost my IPod!!!!!! I am devastated! (At least I like people watching, and I have a good book lol). I hope everyone at home is well, and thinking of you all dealing with the horrible weather conditions. Keep safe... we are off to find a cafe to grab a drink and play cards in... who knows maybe we will end up teaching more people how to play trumps 😊 xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb